Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2016, 09:44 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 1,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by emm-dee View Post
Do you have the uConnect system?


There is a uConnect button on my radio but it's not active.
Am I correct that uConnect is a "pay" subscription service like my satellite radio?
__________________

__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 12:45 PM   #22
Usually Confused Member
 
emm-dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,213
UConnect is the name for the system. There is a uConnect 5 and a uConnect 8.4. Basically the number is the size of the screen. The 8.4 has all the pay stuff.

The -5 has a settings button:


That takes you here:


The up down arrows show different settings options. Press "Trailer Brake" and you get this screen



Select trailer one and



When you press trailer type you'll see



Select what you want and you're done.
__________________

__________________
At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.

Vengeance 25V (the Harley needed a home)
emm-dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 09:19 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 1,798
I guess I don't have that option. This is the system I have.
My setup in the information center doesn't have any trailer brake settings when i scroll down. The radio setup, only has Sirius ID and Clock.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1472091392794.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	31.0 KB
ID:	118394   Click image for larger version

Name:	1472091408534.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	28.1 KB
ID:	118395  
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 10:28 PM   #24
Usually Confused Member
 
emm-dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by rracer5 View Post
I guess I don't have that option. This is the system I have.
My setup in the information center doesn't have any trailer brake settings when i scroll down. The radio setup, only has Sirius ID and Clock.
I haven't seen that setup. But, if you have the integrated brake controller I would think there's a way, somewhere somehow, to set it up. I only know about the ones controlled via the uConnect.

Have you tried getting help from the dealer? Or, check out ramforumz or ramforums boards. Some really smart folks hanging out there.
__________________
At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.

Vengeance 25V (the Harley needed a home)
emm-dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 10:44 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 1,798
I put the question out on dodgeforums.com but no responses yet. Thanks for your efforts emm-dee.
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 02:08 AM   #26
Member
 
n1joh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Hadley
Posts: 81
You do it off the steering wheel I have a 2016 ram 3500. You go to towing and set it.

Sent from my VS985 4G using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
n1joh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 07:27 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 123
The settings in the display of the radio are only at 5.0 and higher.
In lower trim levels with 3.0 the access is, like said, in the center display. The difference between ld and HD is the max power and the electronic gain curve, which is progressive. If you change the settings, you just limit the max power to the brakes. HD has a more linear output with higher power applied.
The trailer settings are accessible, when the trailer is hooked up.
Using HD on a ld trailer can result in brake rubbing, because of the more linear power application. The setting depends also on the individual trailer brakes which makes it impossible to suguest a specific setup. Once the program is chosen, change the gain while driving and find the best setup for your own trailer.
Hope that helps a bit.
__________________
chrisf65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 08:28 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by rracer5 View Post
I guess I don't have that option. This is the system I have.
My setup in the information center doesn't have any trailer brake settings when i scroll down. The radio setup, only has Sirius ID and Clock.


I had that setup in my 11 Ram 1500 hemi 4x4 big horn. I could change my brake controller through the in dash set up menu between the speedo and rpm gauges.
If I still had the truck I would take picks for you but traded it last month for a
2014 Ram 1500 Crew Cab Ecodiesel Laramie.
We tow a 2016 Wildwood 30kqbss which is 6800# dry. I use light electric and set gain to 7.5 and works pretty well



Marty, Carla, Gabby and our ankle biters Rocky and Addy
2014 Ram 1500 Crew Cab Laramie Eco Diesel
Forest River Wildwood 30KQBSS
__________________
eyeguy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 10:21 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
Homebrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 433
We tow a XLR Thunderbolt 300x12 around 16K #, heavy trailer setting @ 4.5
__________________
XLR Thunderbolt 300X12HP
2014 Ram 3500 DRW
Homebrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 04:29 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 1,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeguy1 View Post
I had that setup in my 11 Ram 1500 hemi 4x4 big horn. I could change my brake controller through the in dash set up menu between the speedo and rpm gauges.
If I still had the truck I would take picks for you but traded it last month for a
2014 Ram 1500 Crew Cab Ecodiesel Laramie.
We tow a 2016 Wildwood 30kqbss which is 6800# dry. I use light electric and set gain to 7.5 and works pretty well



Marty, Carla, Gabby and our ankle biters Rocky and Addy
2014 Ram 1500 Crew Cab Laramie Eco Diesel
Forest River Wildwood 30KQBSS

I've tried but, could find no way to make any changes. If you could remember any of it, please let me know. Unless like others have said, I need to be hooked to the trailer.

Sounds like they made it so much easier on the 2012 & up models.
__________________

__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake control, controller, dodge

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.