Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2014, 07:31 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 88
What's the average cost of an EFI live tune?
__________________

__________________
fvstringpicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 07:57 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
jevanb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by fvstringpicker View Post
What's the average cost of an EFI live tune?
most tuners charge 640.oo for 5 tunes and the DSP5 you load then in your driveway, or for 350 you send them you ECM Who's your tuna? - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
__________________

__________________
2012 Wildcat 344QB

06 LBZ ,CC 4x
lots of mods
Superglide
jevanb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 10:28 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Helmsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by jevanb View Post
Your autocal is married to your ECM , nobody can use it. And only the V2 that loaded the tunes can load other tunes. When I went from the autocal to the V2 I asked Rob if he wanted it back for a discount, he said their is no market for a used autocal and if somebody wants to clear codes or data log that is all it is good for
You can purchase the extra VIN licenses for $125, and each AutoCal can hold up to 8 VINs. And as far as it being locked to Rob's V2, I don't think that is a bad thing
__________________
2015 Chevy 3500HD
2013 Sandpiper 365SAQ
Helmsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 10:41 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
jevanb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmsey View Post
You can purchase the extra VIN licenses for $125, and each AutoCal can hold up to 8 VIN
Yes I know, but Rob will still charge for the tunes for the specific ECM/VIN, I now make my own but use his knowledge on past tunes I have bought, I don't have to make many changes and I do no tune anyone's ECM since my truck is the test bed and would not want to screw their ride up, since I am still learning....
__________________
2012 Wildcat 344QB

06 LBZ ,CC 4x
lots of mods
Superglide
jevanb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 09:33 AM   #15
Incheon, S. Korea
 
BigBaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Incheon, South Korea
Posts: 1,140
It used to be camshafts, milling heads, and lapping valves, now it's punching in keys on a keyboard. Cracks me up!
It's so foreign to me.
Where did you guys find out all about tuning? I'd love to know what you all think are the best sources. It's enjoyable reading for me. Full-size trucks are too big for Korea, so I'll just enjoy everyone else's oil-burning adventures.
__________________
Me, Julie, Lil' Barry, Faith, and OSDs, Fang and Treaty
2003 Hyundai Starex (H1), 2012 Coachmen Clipper 126
I don't know when we'll be able to go camping again...
BigBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 03:41 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by jevanb View Post
most tuners charge 640.oo for 5 tunes and the DSP5 you load then in your driveway, or for 350 you send them you ECM Who's your tuna? - Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum
I think this may be above my head. How do you load the tunes in you driveway?
__________________
fvstringpicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 04:27 PM   #17
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by fvstringpicker View Post
I think this may be above my head. How do you load the tunes in you driveway?
Plug it into your obd port.

TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 04:57 PM   #18
Camper Less Camping
 
Cajun Po-Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NW
Posts: 3,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post

Plug it into your obd port.

TURBS

"Sabre owners united"
....or if uncomfortable DIY'er , find a diesel performance shop and they'll do the whole process for you
__________________
2013 Sabre 32RCTS-6 (sold)
Family of 4 whose always on the GEAUX!
Cajun Po-Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 05:48 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
hrlyguy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: N.W. Illinois
Posts: 306
I had atp. On my old lbz and and had a lot issues.Rob had problems tuning my truck.Your absolute best way is to find a good efi. Tuner that can sit in your truck and tune it
My 08 now has efi.lift pump.5" straight pipe exhaust egregious delete.
Get about 14 mpg. Towing and 19 around town.
More hp can and will hurt your trans if abusing the power .
Efi.is the only way to go in my opinion.
__________________
2007.5 Chevy 3500Ltz cc lb Duramax
2010 Sandpiper 345 RET (SOLD)
hrlyguy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 09:02 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Plug it into your obd port.

TURBS

Thanks,

I'm assuming you have to have a device, such as a laptop, to download the tunes from the provider and some way to plug into your truck. Is there a cable you have purchase to do this. Unless I want to drive a couple of hundred miles, I'm a DIY with a long learning curve on this.
__________________

__________________
fvstringpicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.