Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-11-2012, 01:59 PM   #1

Ecoboost & SV 305

I am new to the travel trailer world and looking for a bit of expert advice from you guys. I have looked at countless sites and seen many different responses so I thought I would come here as well because maybe someone has actually towed the SV 305 with an ecoboost and could give me some feedback. I am looking to get a SV305 and a new tow vehicle. The ecoboost with Max Tow is difficult to find and my dealer says it will make the ride quality suffer. Most RV shops and the dealer seem to think the payload is not an issue but I have seen lots of people say you have to watch this. Here are the specs on the truck and trailer. Any help determining if this will be a good fit is greatly appreciated.

F150 Ecoboost 4x4 Supercrew

3.73 Axle
Tow package
7200 GVWR
15500 GCWR
Payload 1520 (1200 door sticker)
Tow Rating 9600

SV 305
Dry wt. 7364
Hitch Weight 829
Txreds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 02:16 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

With that trailer, I think you would be better off with an F250.

If you insist on an Ecoboost F150, you should get the maximum payload capacity in addition to the max tow package. The projected 1000-1200 tongue weight of that trailer is gonna send a F150 without the max payload capacity over the GVWR, unless you are planning on carrying no gear or passengers in the truck.

Since you mentioned the Super Cab, you should also order the 6.5' bed. That will increase your wheelbase from 145" to 157". Pulling a 35' camper, the extra wheelbase will be a big plus.