Old 08-19-2010, 09:18 PM   #1

gooseneck or 5th wheel

I have been towing for years, but i am new in the 5th wheeling. My wife and i just bought a 30RKFS Cedar Creek, 5th wheel. I have a 2003 Chevy 2500 short bed with a gooseneck ball already installed. I think I will have to remove the gosseneck ball inorder to install the 5th wheel underbed rails. Is the any advantages or disadvantages of eather one? If I do the gooseneck conversion will I need to get the 8" extended version? Thanks for all you help. What would you all do?
JOhnny

Old 08-19-2010, 09:27 PM   #2

Johnny I would NOT use a goose neck hitching system to pull your 5er.The front of a 5er does not have the bracing for that.You will stand a great chance of cracking the frame work on your trailer.If I am correct,I don't think there is a 5th wheel company out there that recommends that.

Old 08-19-2010, 09:44 PM   #3

Hi Johnny,

Welcome to FRF.

Reese(Draw-Tite) make a Goose Neck conversion Fifth Wheel Hitch.

Draw-Tite Trailer Coupler - 9480

Converts an underbed gooseneck hitch into a fifth wheel hitch
Works with:
■B&W Turnover Ball
■Hide-A-Goose by Draw-Tite, Hidden Hitch or Reese
■Under-Bed by Bulldog

Old 08-19-2010, 09:56 PM   #4

Thanks for the info, I looked at the specs and they say this is for long wheel base only. I guess because it would not slide because of the way it is designed.
Old 08-19-2010, 10:20 PM   #5

Johnny I have a B&W Companion 5th hitch. It work with a B&W under bed receiver hitch. You can us a goose neck or companion 5th wheel. What I like about this setup, you have a clear bed for hauling stuff. The pen handle is in the right side wheel well. I have a wildcat 31TS & if I put a goose neck on it the warranty goes out the window, due to what Tracker stated . Good Luck & check around.
Old 08-20-2010, 08:16 AM   #6