Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-23-2018, 09:28 AM   #1

Hensley? TT-TV-Sway control purchase work flow

Hello all !
We are total newbs out of the gate with months of research already done and this may sound like a dumb question. I am considering budgeting for the sway control/WD hitch options.

Ive already put money down/ordered my 2019 F250 gas-160" ( camper package / 12.5k max tow )
We are looking at TT Toy Haulers in the 8k-9k# empty weight range ( w/Max GVW maybe 1-1.5k# toys/ gear in the TT / plus 400-600# in the truck ) .
I have no idea how it will tow and what sway I will encounter.

My question is, before I spend the $2-3k on a PP3p / Hensley( which seems to be where most people who want their wives to feel safe driving and are interested in the safest towing experience end up , even after having the Equalizers / etc) , do you'all think I should wait and just drive it a little first? Is it possible I will not need anything? Is it safe to at least drive home from the RV dealer with nothing but a simple tow hitch? I guess Ill have to spend money on that, correct? Do I try the anti sway devices that are in the $500-600 range first and risk being out that money if I need something better?

As far as towing , what is the most cost effective work flow when purchasing from the ground up like we are?
Thanks for any help
Deanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 09:33 AM   #2

Spend the money on the Hensley/PP3 and you won't have to worry about sway again. Loved my Hensley, still have it just in case I decide to go back to travel trailer.
BessieHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 09:54 AM   #3
llr