Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-24-2015, 01:43 PM   #1

Hitch Confusion

I was stuck inside today and that’s okay as it was 10 below when I got up this morning. I have been pulling a couple of campers now for about 5 years. My wife and I think we will soon (within a year) upgrade to a bigger truck and a fifth wheel camper. About two weeks ago we test drove some trucks and decided on a Ford F-350 diesel with single rear wheels and the short bed. Nuff said about the truck.

Since the fifth wheel requires either a Reese Revolution hitch or a slider to operate safely (this from the manufacturer) I have been looking at my options.

After speaking to Forest River, Reese, Curt, B&W, etrailer, A local hitch installer, and Pullrite my mind is numb.

I have come to the conclusion that I would order the truck with the factory prep package installed and purchase a standard hitch, either Reese or B&W and mount it to the preset pucks in the bed. I would then purchase a Reese Revolution (Sidewinder) pin box and replace the factory one that comes with the 5th wheel.

My thoughts are that this would reduce any labor costs as I could do the installs myself. Nothing has to be done under the truck i.e. no drilling or removal of the exhaust system as some require and I would have fewer moving parts to make noise in the setup. I also believe the cost would be toward the lower end of the other options I have.

If you were starting over, how would you do it?

John
4WD SRW Diesel
JohnF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 01:50 PM   #2

No brainer for me.I really like our Sidewinder hitch.Towing with a 5 1/2' bed on a Ram.
DaveandSue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 02:01 PM   #3
Mod free 5er

If you get a Flagstaff or Rockwood Super Lite, these have the Sidewinder factory installed. Just get a regular 16K Reese hitch and activate the Sidewinder.