Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-10-2007, 01:43 AM   #1

Smile hitch question

I'm very new to the rv world, just purchased a rockwood 2501ss yesterday, question i have is what is the difference between a weigh distribution hitch & a sway control hitch, do i need both? if i do, which kind should i get? my tow vehicle is a 07 tundra crew max with towing package, is the factory hitch stout enough? thanks in advance.
dooboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 05:32 AM   #2

Need more info about your new camper, max weight " loaded " how long the camper is and max tow rating on your TV. This info is needed so every here can give you all the there suggestions, and you couldn't have picked a better place then here, by the way, welcome aboard.
rockwood06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 09:07 AM   #3

to FRF!
aintgotnun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 09:34 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by dooboy View Post
I'm very new to the rv world, just purchased a rockwood 2501ss yesterday, question i have is what is the difference between a weigh distribution hitch & a sway control hitch, do i need both? if i do, which kind should i get? my tow vehicle is a 07 tundra crew max with towing package, is the factory hitch stout enough? thanks in advance.
Two different animals. A WD hitch can incorparate both and there is no such thing as a sway control hitch, although sway control can and is incorporated in WD hitches. I guess you could somehow rig a sway control with a bumper hitch.
With anything more than a popup I would use a WD hitch. Reese dual cam is a good one, there are others, but I use the dual cam and once set up it words real good. Sway control is built in the dual cam setup.

JMHO............

Paul B
2004 Twin 2000i Hondas'
Paul B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 04:28 PM   #5

Quote: