Old 01-30-2008, 11:35 PM   #1

Question How do I tow with O/D?

I have a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500 quad cab short bed 4x4 and I have been pulling utility trailers for 3 years now and am under the assumption that ANYTIME I am pulling something (no matter the weight) I need to push in the little "tow/haul" button on the end of the shifter. I assume this is turning overdrive off??

This info was given to my by the dealer service guys upon purchase of the truck. With the small utility trailer I noticed nothing, but with my new Flagstaff 831 KRSS I notice that the transmission shifts up and down a lot. The truck pulls fine as far as I can tell.

Could someone please explain how I want to operate my truck for towing to get the best results? I keep hearing o/d on unless... or 3rd gear for this situation and 2nd for that etc...

I just want to know the concept of how I need to pull to get the best performance. I am not a "gear head" so I don't know what is needed to get this done however, I do understand basic concepts of transmission etc...

Thanks, Frank

2002 Daughter
1969 Wife
1974 Me

Live and Work in St. Louis, MO. area, but play everywhere!
-----------------------------------------
fire4034 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 11:52 PM   #2
The Jolly Mon

Send a message via Yahoo to NDJollyMon
When I tow with my Nissan, with a similar TOW/HAUL switch...
I towed my trailer with the button ON. It changes the shift points, and does away with a lot of that up/down shift. It also helps a lot starting/stopping. That constant up/down shift will heat up the tranny real fast...and we all know what happens then!

I'm not a gearhead either...but I always use the TOW/HAUL button, and downshifted one gear. (The Titan has a 5 speed tranny)

2018 Wildwood Grand Lodge 42 DLTS
-Seasonal Space, Northern MN.
-2017 Sylvan 8522 LZ LES/115 Merc/Sea Legs
NDJollyMon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 07:52 AM   #3