Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2014, 08:56 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
elika63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 21
Installing new brake controller

I'm about to purchase a new Prodigy P3 controller for my 2013 GMC Sierra and need to know if I need to purchase a GM harness or just hook up directly. I'm pretty sure I'm pre-wired, however, have no clue which wires to use. I see a harness already mounted below my dash (but believe this is used to read engine codes?) and also another set of cut wires tucked above (that I've pulled down in photo). I'd like to get the harness but not sure if I even need it. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1419126958.660922.jpg
Views:	170
Size:	299.6 KB
ID:	67715
__________________

__________________
elika63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 08:59 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,552
Did you get a brake Controller harness with the vehicle when you purchased it. Mine was in a bag in the glove box.
__________________

__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 09:00 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
elika63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 21
Installing new brake controller

Flybob , no I purchased the vehicle used.
__________________
elika63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 09:02 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
elika63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 21
Also, do I need to do anything under the hood in the fuse box? I've heard that I may have to find the wiring and fuse for that as well.
__________________
elika63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 09:26 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
raspivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brazoria County, Texas
Posts: 1,360
__________________
2015 Chevy Silverado LTZ - HD tow package
2017 Rockwood 2703WS Emerald Edition
raspivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 10:10 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Western MA
Posts: 603
I can't tell you 100% but I'm guessing you're ready to just wire it in. I added P3 to a 2011 Chevy Express Van that had the same wires you have under the dash. (If a basic vehicle like a cargo van is pre-wired and ready to go, I'm guessing your pickup must be.) No fuse box work needed. It was as simple as connect the four wires from the controller to the four under the dash and done. One word of advice is to pay attention to wire color as the P3 wire colors don't match the trucks (red doesn't equal red and so on) and mis-wiring can cause damage to the controller. Good luck with your project....
__________________
taken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 11:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,724
Since you don't have the plug under the dash, just the wire pigtails, you'll have to splice them to the end of the harness that comes with the P3 as shown in the video raspivey posted.

Here's the controller at etrailer:

Tekonsha Prodigy P3 Trailer Brake Controller - 1 to 4 Axles - Proportional Tekonsha Brake Controller 90195

Fast delivery. I've got the same thing in my 2009 Silverado, only I had the connector under the dash. GM's gone cheap in the last couple of years.

You'll probably have to do the wiring thing at the fuse box, as shown in the video. (I had to buy the 2 nuts, different sizes, of course, and two fuses, one for brakes and one for the aux power.)
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 12:20 AM   #8
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,267
Rockfordroo has it right.
GM made the change in 2007 to bare end wire bundle for the BC.
I just spliced the Prodigy OEM harness to the bundle.
no more plug in harness, like in previous years.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 09:42 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
elika63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 21
Thanks guys! It didn't make sense to purchase the extra harness if I could hook up the controller directly to the wires. Good to know GM is cutting corners. I'll check under the hood for the fuses.
__________________
elika63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 09:51 AM   #10
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,552
Also check the fuse for the 12V Acc power, Tow packages usually have the wire installed, but leave the fuse position open.
__________________

__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake control, controller, brakes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.