Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2015, 01:02 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
thebrakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canton, Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy Vibe View Post
Brakeman nobody said they did not use other sensors, I only said the main factor under normal conditions is brake pressure. If you want to split hairs with brake force on the pedal and brake line pressure that is up to you.
I'm not trying to split hairs. Several have said that they are not inertial controlled, and you have said that the main factor in their performance is how hard you press the pedal.

I'd like to know how you know that, because it does not make sense to me, based on the work that I do, and the natural progression in my industry. How do you know that brake force/pressure is the main factor? Just because voltage increases at rest with pedal force/pressure, that does not mean the same for dynamic stops.

If you aren't interested in the conversation, that's fine. But I would love to know.
__________________

__________________
thebrakeman ('70), DW ('71), DD ('99), DD ('01), DD ('05)
2004 Surveyor SV261T (UltraLite Bunkhouse Hybrid)
2006 Mercury Mountaineer V8 AWD Premier
Equal-i-zer WDH (10k), Prodigy Brake Controller
thebrakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 01:26 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,101
I don't understand why that would not make sense. An Inertial based system would have to wait till the TV starts to slow down before it would register, were as a system that works off the pressure related to the TV brakes would react the moment the brakes are pressed. I am looking for the story I saw on the GM system but i can't find it right now. If you can supply more info that would be good to, obviously you have more information than I do else you would not say I am wrong.
__________________

__________________
Ontario

Vibe 6501
1 Prospector Canoe
2 Mtn. Bikes
4 Hiking Boots
Happy Vibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 01:38 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Filthy Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustman_stx View Post
I'm an equal opportunity basher- I don't like Chrysler (or Ram) for that reason either!
I guess my point wasn't that Chrysler also got a bailout, it was that you not liking GM or Chrysler lends nothing to the discussion about integrated brake controls.
__________________
Goody Two Shoes and the Filthy Beast
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500HD
Duramax and Allison 6 speed
2012 Wildcat 282RKX

You can't make things idiot proof, you can only make them idiot resistant.
Filthy Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 01:47 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
thebrakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canton, Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy Vibe View Post
I don't understand why that would not make sense. An Inertial based system would have to wait till the TV starts to slow down before it would register, were as a system that works off the pressure related to the TV brakes would react the moment the brakes are pressed. I am looking for the story I saw on the GM system but i can't find it right now. If you can supply more info that would be good to, obviously you have more information than I do else you would not say I am wrong.
That's fine.
As far as reaction time, I don't think there would be much difference. We're talking about electronics either way:
-Prodigy: Solid state accelerometer senses deceleration, and the controller sends back a certain proportional voltage.
-Integrated: Pressure transducer senses an increase in pressure (and/or deceleration), and the controller sends back a certain proportional voltage.
The lag for either is milliseconds. Either way the information has to be interpreted by a "brain", then sent.
__________________
thebrakeman ('70), DW ('71), DD ('99), DD ('01), DD ('05)
2004 Surveyor SV261T (UltraLite Bunkhouse Hybrid)
2006 Mercury Mountaineer V8 AWD Premier
Equal-i-zer WDH (10k), Prodigy Brake Controller
thebrakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 02:12 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filthy Beast View Post
I guess my point wasn't that Chrysler also got a bailout, it was that you not liking GM or Chrysler lends nothing to the discussion about integrated brake controls.
You chased that rabbit first, if you'll recall. You did point out that it lends nothing to the original conversation specifically in that earlier post as well, but not before interjecting your opinion on the issue. Somewhat hypocritical, but I digress. Carry on. Oh yeah, IBC's are better.
__________________
dustman_stx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 02:42 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,101
I will still try and find that story but I may start a new thread because this one has been hijacked enough.
__________________
Ontario

Vibe 6501
1 Prospector Canoe
2 Mtn. Bikes
4 Hiking Boots
Happy Vibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 06:26 AM   #37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
One quick question. Do you need to be in the Tow/Haul mode for the brake controller to work? My old truck had an after market brake controller and I had to press the buttons together to engage trailer brakes. I could feel the braking. On my new 2015 Ram 2500HD, I see the display showing the trailer is hooked up and the voltage moving when I step on the brakes or press the IBC buttons. However, I don't really feel like the brakes are engaging. It makes me wonder if I don't have something set up correctly?
Thanks for any help.
__________________
Darter576
2015 Cedar Creek Silverback 29IK
2015 Dodge Ram CC 2500HD DSL
Darter576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 07:52 AM   #38
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darter576 View Post
One quick question. Do you need to be in the Tow/Haul mode for the brake controller to work? My old truck had an after market brake controller and I had to press the buttons together to engage trailer brakes. I could feel the braking. On my new 2015 Ram 2500HD, I see the display showing the trailer is hooked up and the voltage moving when I step on the brakes or press the IBC buttons. However, I don't really feel like the brakes are engaging. It makes me wonder if I don't have something set up correctly?
Thanks for any help.
No you don't need to be in tow / hual mode for controller to work.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "4 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 08:31 AM   #39
Senior Member
 
f5moab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 2,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darter576 View Post
One quick question. Do you need to be in the Tow/Haul mode for the brake controller to work? My old truck had an after market brake controller and I had to press the buttons together to engage trailer brakes. I could feel the braking. On my new 2015 Ram 2500HD, I see the display showing the trailer is hooked up and the voltage moving when I step on the brakes or press the IBC buttons. However, I don't really feel like the brakes are engaging. It makes me wonder if I don't have something set up correctly?
Thanks for any help.
Did you set up the gain on the brake controller? Owner's manual should have instructions on the procedure.
__________________
Trailer: Lifted 228BH, heavy duty springs and Yokohama tires DELAMINATED ROOF
TV: 2016 GMC Sierra Z71 4x4 CC, SLT
Spare TV: Two Alaskan Malamutes

Living somewhere in ID; previously lived in Moab UT; previous to that, don't ask!
f5moab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 09:01 AM   #40
Senior Member
 
thebrakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canton, Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darter576 View Post
One quick question. Do you need to be in the Tow/Haul mode for the brake controller to work? My old truck had an after market brake controller and I had to press the buttons together to engage trailer brakes. I could feel the braking. On my new 2015 Ram 2500HD, I see the display showing the trailer is hooked up and the voltage moving when I step on the brakes or press the IBC buttons. However, I don't really feel like the brakes are engaging. It makes me wonder if I don't have something set up correctly?
Thanks for any help.
Integrated or aftermarket, you should not have to engage any special towing mode. If you had to press the manual buttons/levers on your aftermarket controller to engage the trailer brakes, then something was either wrong with the controller, or you did not have it setup properly.
__________________

__________________
thebrakeman ('70), DW ('71), DD ('99), DD ('01), DD ('05)
2004 Surveyor SV261T (UltraLite Bunkhouse Hybrid)
2006 Mercury Mountaineer V8 AWD Premier
Equal-i-zer WDH (10k), Prodigy Brake Controller
thebrakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake control, controller, brakes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.