Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-02-2018, 05:25 PM   #1

Lippert Pin Box

For those with 5th wheels, i have a question. while im not new to trailering or towing, i am new to a fifth wheel. we took delivery of a 2108 unit (not Forest river this time...but not specific to the question) and after our first use of the 5er i noticed rusting under the pin box around the pin. i have pics ill post, but they are not the best quality, but the rusting in my opinion is going to cause degradation issue on the attachment point of a 135000 5er to my truck...not to mention the staining all over my hitch and bed...

Ive contacted lippert and they say this is normal wear and tear on pin box (even with a friction plate in place) and that i should paint the hitch box. Im just looking for opinions on "normal" wear and tear. if the consensus is this is a maintenance issue on a pin box used twice to tow in six weeks, and it is infact normal, then ill accept it....if not ill be raising the issue further at lippert.

thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2338.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	154.2 KB
ID:	188110   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2337.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	209.4 KB
ID:	188111   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2336.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	284.0 KB
ID:	188112   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2335.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	303.3 KB
ID:	188113   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2342.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	265.1 KB
ID:	188114  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2341.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	371.4 KB
ID:	188115  
Old 10-02-2018, 05:35 PM   #2

I would agree with the assessment that, from what is shown in the pics, there is no more than normal wear on the pin. Additionally, I would agree with the suggestion to prep and repaint the pin box to stop any further unsightly rusting or staining of the lube plate.