Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-21-2012, 10:58 PM   #1

looking for the right WD hitch for my new combo

Hi, i just purchased a 2012 prime time tracer touring edition 3150 bhd. the trailer sits with out my gear at around 6700lbs, i'll be towing it with a 2011 ford f150. here are the truck specs 5.0 with 373 gears, 145'' wheel base the towing capacity is 9300 lbs with a gvwr of 7200lbs and a gcvwr of 15,100lbs. i know the weight police will be on me about this, but i have towed alot of trailers and i was a tractor trailer driver for 10 yrs, and still haul 100,000 tankers part time so experience wont be an issue. anyway to get back to my question!! i'm not all that fimiliar with the newer style WD hitches, as far as with my current set up..... what to use. i know i'll be under the weight limits on all of my weights (barely) but under, i'm just not sure what is a good hitch to buy and what weight catagory hitch i will need

thanks in advance for any help i can get on this matter
billyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 11:11 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Most people buy either Reese Dual Cam or Equalizer. Look at etrailers.com as they have pictures and lots of good information.
1969 John Deere 1020, 1940 Ford 9N, 1948 Ford 8N
Jonsered 535, Can of WD-40, Duct Tape
Red Green coffee mugs
acadianbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 11:29 PM   #3

I've used the Equal-i-zer for about 3 years now and haven't had a problem. Easy to install/set-up, distributes the weight well and has very good built in sway control.

Here's a link to RV Wholesalers. They have free shipping. RVWholesalers.com RV Parts and Accessories*,*Results for Equal-i-zer

Your dealer may also have this hitch and you may can get it worked into the deal.