Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-26-2014, 10:56 AM   #1

Micro Lite 23FB Towing help

So, I'm new to the world of TT which has caused me to over analyze and research everything tow involved.... thus I AM OVERWHELMED, and need your advice!

A little info:
-TV 2010 Toyota Tacoma w/ tow capacity of 6500 lbs and hitch weight limit of 650 lbs. Also had a TSB done which adds a fourth leaf to the rear suspension.
- Proposed TT is a 2011 Micro lite 23fb which weighs in at 3,700 lbs, with a hitch weight of 569 lbs (all dry)
-I plan on camping 1-3 times per month, staying withing a couple hours of home. With an occasional trip 6-8 hours away (1x/year)
-I live in SE TN, so rolling hills are in the area.
- WILL be getting a WD hitch along with sway bars.

Questions/Concerns/Opinions (let me have it )
- I "think" I'm ok as far as the weight of the trailer, but concerned about the hitch weight ( espescially once propane tank, battery, bed of truck filled ) Will I be comfortable once WD hitch installed?

Thanks guys, I hope your help lets my brain stop spinning!
sdalton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 11:11 AM   #2

Welcome,It seems like your OK,BUT,to be SURE,weight all the things you read about,after you Load and ready to go (Down the Road). We can all Guess only you will know the numbers. Also not just you but several Members say,(I am not going very Far)? They only have to pull out on a Roadway with a (Bad Setup) and that is (To Far)! Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 11:29 AM   #3

Good point...
Old 02-26-2014, 11:32 AM   #4

What have you done to improve the braking ability of your Toy?

Rear suspension mods are great but they are only part of the Img.

What the rig weighs loaded and ready to roll should be foremost.
Old 02-26-2014, 11:42 AM   #5