Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-13-2015, 10:33 AM   #1

Need hitch help with a 2015 Ford F-150 (5.5ft bed) and Reese Revolution

Hi,

I'm new to fifth wheels (though I have done quite a lot of research), but not to conventional towing.

I just bought a 2015 Rockwood Ultralite Fifth Wheel, with the Reese Revolution hitch, which pushes the rotation point 22" back from the king-pin.

The problem is that my 2015 F-150 (Crewcab, 5.5ft bed) has a very short distance from the back of the cab to the axle center which, as best as I can measure, is 27.25".

That gives a total of only 49.25". Assuming that the king pin is centered exactly over the axle (and not 1.5" forward as some folks have suggested, and I'm not even sure if that's optional) that's only 1.25" of clearance if the trailer is at 90 degrees (96" width, so 48" half-width), but of course we need at least an extra inch since the distance from the revolution's rotation point to the front corner of the trailer is 49", leaving basically zero clearance.

So ... I have a couple of options as best as I can work out ...

1. Don't turn sharply (not liking relying on this one).

2. Use a manual slider, in addition to the Reese Revolution, so that I can slide the king-pin back behind the axle when making extra-tight turns, still using the offset of the Revolution. This seems like a viable option, tho' with the usual concerns about having to get out of the truck to manually move the slider back.

3. Lock the Reese Revolution 'arm' (what's the proper term for the arm between the king-pin box and the king-pin itself ?) to function as a regular king-pin setup, and use a Superglide 12K to handle offsetting of the rotation point.

This last one has both positives and negatives, and I'm not sure if it's even a real possibility.