Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-30-2013, 07:52 AM   #1

Need some tips for Towing in mountains?

Hi all,

What are some tips for towing in the mountains? I have a 2012 SV305 Surveyor towing with a 2012 F150 echoboost, 3.73, max towing and payload package. Never towed in the mountains. I'm still new to towing.

Thanks,

John
2013 nights camped 27
2014 nights camped
BigJohn2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:49 AM   #2

Tips:

Go down the mountain no faster than you went up.

Don't ride the brakes on the way down, instead use the brakes to slow you to a certain MPH and then let off to allow them to cool off, rinse and repeat. Using a lower gear will also help keep the speed down.

If you have Tow/Haul option you can use it and it will help also.

Don't feel pressured to maintain the speed limit on big hills, drive at what your truck and your common sense says is safe.
Len & Cheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:57 AM   #3

Be extremely cautious on the way down. Some years back I was following a semi down Monarch Pass. I was towing a Cardinal fifth wheel. The semi was going about 35mph. I tried putting my truck in low gear but that was to slow. So I used second. The problem with second it was to fast and I had to keep applying the brakes. I didn't think it was a problem until I smelled something hot. I knew I had to stop immediatly to let them cool. It took both feet on the brake pedal pushing as hard as I could push to get it stopped. The wheels on both the truck and camper were so hot they would cause spit to sizzle. It was a very frightening experience that I will not forget. I still go through the mountain passes but I will not follow someone so closely that I have make repeated brake applications.
comfun1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:35 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus