Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-04-2012, 11:14 AM   #1

New guy need info.

Hello all. I am new to the travel trailer world. I have a 2011 F150 Platinum SC 5.5 bed, 7200 GVWR? Ecoboost with 3.31 rear end. Built in brake controler, and anti trailer sway. My max tow rating is 8200lbs. Front axle max 3750lbs rear 4050lbs. My hitch is a class 5 with max of 10500, and tong 1050 with weight distrobution hitch. I do have a 4 point WDH. My trailer is a 2012 Sandstorm SLC 233. Dry weight of 6145, tong weight of 876. The trailer has the 40g fuel tank and 100g water tank. If I pull fully loaded with 650lb atv in the trailer I am looking at 8000lb to 8200lb. most cargo in this camper will be towords the middle and back of the camper. With the trailer dry and WDH my sag in the rear is only 1 1/2in. I have pulled trailers before but not a travel trailer. I live in Colorado and will be pulling in the mountains a couple times a month. I did resaerch before getting the trailer, and I did ask many questions of the dealer "camping world" in Colorado Spings. They were sure that I would be able to tow this rig with no problems even being close to or at max weights. I hope that I was not missled. Any info will be great. hope I did not ramble to much. Thanks SFC C
sfctanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 11:19 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

You were mislead
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 11:29 AM   #3

How so?? Am I screwed? I hope not. The only dif from my truck and the F150 max tow is the 3.37 rear end, and they are rated at 11,300lbs. We took a big step by buying this camper. I had heared nothing bad about htis camping world, but it would be my luck to get screwed. I also called Ford and they said that even pulling max weight I should be ok, but I do nead to not excead max tong or tow weight. Man I dont feel real good right now.