Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-15-2019, 06:48 PM   #1

Exclamation NEW to RVs - Help me out?

Hi all! I am new to the RV world. A few years ago I wrote descriptions for RV dealer websites, but that's about the extent of my knowledge.

I'm wanting to purchase the 2020 Flagstaff E-Pro 19FBS, but am concerned about whether or not my SUV can handle it.

I drive a 2011 Ford Escape XLT FWD V6. Towing capacity is 3,500lbs.

Would the E-Pro and my personal affects be too much weight to tow around in my little SUV? It would mostly be stationary at my house, but I'd like to take it camping at least once a month.

Any and all help and advice is appreciated. Thanks all!
megsrvlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 07:16 PM   #2
Site Team

Your Escape has a frontal area tow limitation, which any TT will exceed.

And the loaded tongue weight will exceed the 350lbs max.

That's why folding trailers are usually suggested.

Plus the car's payload may not be sufficient for Occupants, cargo, WDH and loaded tongue weight.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 09:57 PM   #3

First, welcome to the forum and thank you for researching your tow vehicle and potential trailer prior to purchase. It's much easier to adjust the plan before the purchase rather than prior.

Second, the trailer you're looking at is awesome. I love my current trailer but would love something in the sub-20' category. It's super versatile and easy to take out for a 2 nighter trip.

To the nuts and bolts of the original question:

The towing capacity of a 2011 Escape is at best 3500 pounds with a 350 pound tongue weight and no option for a weight distribution hitch (WDH).