Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2013, 02:34 PM   #1

New truck and trailer jitters

Greetings I am new to towing and the whole RV lifestyle and kind of jumped in headfirst. We have decided on a Rockwood 2306 Mini Lite with the murphy bed option. I am picking it up in about a week and am starting to get some jitters about my TV. I cant change the TV as I bought it (rather leased it) about a month ago.

I have a 2013 Pathfinder SL AWD. I am having a WDH with sway control included. My Pathfinder is rated for 5000# with 500# tongue weight. We aren't planning on dry camping so I wont need to load it up with water and generators and am thinking loaded i'll be sitting in around 4200-4400#'s

The GVCW is 10000#'s so I "may" be sitting in around 9000-9200 loaded but that is just a high side guess. These numbers are including the wife and two small kids and

I live in Vancouver BC and am not planning on trips through the Rockies anytime soon but I may take the Coquihalla up to the interior of BC once in a while.

The RV dealer says I should be fine with this and they are to the best of by knowledge on the hook somewhat with selling you too much trailer. One dealership said if I wanted to buy this other model that was 4170# dry I would have to sign a waiver and he did NOT want me to buy it.

How much trouble am I getting myself into? I have negotiated in a subject to sale of a test tow so worst case scenario if I bail I am just out the cost of the brake controller I am having them install.

Any feedback is appreciated
Sullione is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 03:32 PM   #2