Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-14-2015, 08:49 AM   #1

Angry Newbie and very confused

Hey Everyone, Newbie here, I love the site and all the info provided...
My wife is disabled and in order for me to get her out of the house so she could enjoy life a little, I just bought an TT. (haven't picked up yet) Here's my problem, After hours of crunching numbers I'm still, or even more confused than when I started. There is a popular spreadsheet on this site for calculating towing capacities. According to this formula I should not be able to pull my boat which I've been doing for 17 years and many miles....can anyone help?
Please correct me if I'm wrong.
2007 F150 5.4L (3valve per)-- 139 inch WB-- 3.55 rear end and tow package. GVWR;-7050lbs.---Front GAWR 3450lbs---- Rear GAWR 3850 lbs GCWR;14,500lbs--- Max trailer weight;9000 lbs. I took the trailer weight and subtracted 10% for safety =8100lbs Then I subtracted another 10% from max trailer weight for "stuff"= 7200lbs. The weight of the 274RKS is 6552Lbs am I good to go? I will be installing brake controller and towing eqaulizer/stabilizer
Old 02-14-2015, 09:18 AM   #2