Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-27-2009, 11:10 PM   #1

Newbie -- tow a Roo 23SS with a Tacoma??

Hey folks .. You guessed right ! I'm a NEWBIE. I am going to look at a Roo 23SS (~4000lb dry) tomorrow morning. My wife has already decided "we are going to buy it". Assuming shes right and she usually is ....... will my 08 Tacoma - Crew Cab - long bed - V6 Auto handle it with a 6500lb. max tow?

Will I need weight distribution and sway control? I want to be safe. I am thinking one of the new straight line distribution and sway rigs with 600lb bars. The Roo 23ss showes 367lb tongue weight. Does this sound about right? No regrets?
Lake Murray Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 12:08 PM   #2
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lake Murray Man View Post
Hey folks .. You guessed right ! I'm a NEWBIE. I am going to look at a Roo 23SS (~4000lb dry) tomorrow morning. My wife has already decided "we are going to buy it". Assuming shes right and she usually is ....... will my 08 Tacoma - Crew Cab - long bed - V6 Auto handle it with a 6500lb. max tow?

Will I need weight distribution and sway control? I want to be safe. I am thinking one of the new straight line distribution and sway rigs with 600lb bars. The Roo 23ss showes 367lb tongue weight. Does this sound about right? No regrets?
first, don't believe any specs on FR's website. they are famous for their inaccuracies.
our '07 23SS came with options at 4471lbs. at camping weight for the two of us, we're around 5000lbs.
the tongue is way more than 376, especially loaded with water. i think it's over 600lbs.
as long as you don't have a lot of mountains, you should be fine. that v-6 would struggle out here in the West.
when we decided to buy our 23SS, i discovered that truck v-6 engines only get a couple of mpg better than a full v-8.