Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-10-2014, 09:48 AM   #1

Newbie towing issues

My wife and I just retired and purchased our first camper. We have upcoming plans to spend a few weeks in the western states. Maybe I'm new at this, but I am not happy with how it tows. We get a lot of fore-to-aft pitching. I feel like we are bobbing along in a rowboat, pitching front to back. If the road is even a little rough it feels like the camper is intermittently pushing us along. Windjammer 2809w trailer, Equalizer 1000 lbs. hitch, Ecco Boost F-150 with towing package. We don't carry much in the way of stuff, 6200 dry weight with about 700lbs on the tongue.
Too much on the tongue? Too little? Should I adjust the hitch to add weight to the tongue?
Thanks in advance!
Rhoogenakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 09:53 AM   #2

I'm no expert so hopefully someone else will pipe in too, but from what I have heard, the "porpoise " effect usually comes from too much weight put on the truck from the load levelers. Try a link or two less in the chains and do a test pull.
kappel15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 10:06 AM   #3

Not much Info to work with,year & Miles on truck?,Tire type on truck? How much preload on T-bars? Fluid in Tanks of unit? Full/half? Front to back jerking can be lots of diff.things! Call a friend with a diff.truck to give it a test pull. Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 10:46 AM   #4

Truck is a 2013 f150 with about 6500 miles on it. The leveler are sett at their lowest setting. I swapped out original tires with 8 ply truck tires. Tanks are all empty. My neighbor has a trailer about the same size and weight. The receiver height on his GMC 2500 is close to the same height as my truck so we tried my trailer and his truck. Same effect but not as severe. His truck is obviously heavier.