Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2015, 09:23 PM   #1

newbie with tongue weight question

I'm new to towing a travel trailer. Just recently bought a

Forest River Rockwood Ultra Lite. It came with a Equalizer WD/Sway control hitch. It seems to tow pretty good most of the time if I stay about at 50-55 mph. However, any gust of wind immediately gives me some sway and for a few seconds I feel like the front end might be floating and anything could happen. That might just be my imagination and I've gotten a little accustomed to it.

TV: 2010 Expedition EL (131" wheelbase) with heavy duty tow package. Front GAWR 3700, Rear GAWR 4250, GVWR 7540. Max tow weight 8900, max tongue weight 890.

TT: 2015 Forest River Rockwood 2702SS. Total length 31'11", UVW 5246, GVW 6629, CCC 1345.

Recent weights at CAT Scale:
TV without TT: Front 2920, Rear 3160
TV + TT: Front 2720, Rear 4080, TT Axles 5580.

So if tongue weight = TV with TT attached minus TV alone I get 720.
If tongue weight = the difference in the TV rear axle with and without TT attached I get 920. Which, if either, is correct?

Also, these numbers are with weight distribution. I've since purchased a tongue scale which of course gives higher values than when the WD hitch is in play. I have very little in the front storage compartment and very little in the front part of the TT interior, yet can't get the tongue scale to read below 900 except when I filled the gray tank to offset the tongue weight.

I'm thinking about getting a ProPride hitch to fix my sway, but it is going to add another 100 pounds or so to the tongue, and I don't know if that's a good idea or not.

Any tips on how to interpret these numbers and if the new hitch will work out would be appreciated.
dano50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 09:35 PM   #2