Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-15-2014, 02:16 AM   #1

Questions about Weight from Newbie

I have a Forest River popup and Im new at this so trying to figure out how much weight I can carry on the RV based on the GVWR and the GAWR and some of the numbers dont seem to match so I think I have something wrong.

I know that GVWR is Gross vehicle Weight max permissible wt fully loaded and GAWR is Gross Axil weight including cargo safely supported by each axil.

Ok, so my GVWR is 3063 lbs. Dry weight is 2431 lbs and weight of cargo should not exceed 615 lbs. (this is what the stickers say on the side of the trailer) SO that Totals to 3046 lbs But my GVWR says 3063 lbs which is 17lbs difference.. ok thats not bad but it's strange if they go to the trouble of putting the numbers down you'd think that it would equal out. Anyway, that's not my full question:

When I added water (if I carry it) 167 lbs, 2 LP tanks (@ 20lbs each) 40lbs, Battery 41lbs = Total 248 lbs I'll call these "necessities".

So adding the 248 lbs for these "necessities", + Dry weight of the RV 2431 lbs = Total 2,679 lbs
Then if I subtract this amount from the GVWR 3063- 2,679 = 384 lbs (which is the poundage that I have left that I can carry for supplies on the RV?? such as pots, electric cables, other items? Sounds like a lot of poundage but I know it can add up fast having been backpacking a lot. So does this sound right? Ok that was my first real question.

My second question then is the GAWR which is the amount of weight that can go on an Axil which is also stated on a sticker on the trailer. Ok since there is only one axil (2 wheels) .. is it one axil then that holds 2 wheels? If so then here comes the confusing part for me.