Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2014, 12:10 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
schrederman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 977
Ram Brake Controller

I'm lazy and ....

That outa the way, does anyone know how to set the gain on a Ram brake controller. Mine went up to 5 but seems to have done so automatically. I need it to go up a touch, but haven't figured that out, yet... I set it to electric lite first, then electric heavy, with the same result.

Yes, I need to watch the dvd, but I'm at work a lot lately, and... well... see the first statement for clarification...
__________________

__________________
J & D in Lovely Weatherford, TX
2016 Jayco White Hawk 28DSBH TT
2014 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4X4 6.7L Cummins
schrederman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 05:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
schrederman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 977
Well... I watched the video, and there was nothing there of help...
__________________

__________________
J & D in Lovely Weatherford, TX
2016 Jayco White Hawk 28DSBH TT
2014 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4X4 6.7L Cummins
schrederman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 06:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 851
I just push the + button till it hits 10 for my trailer, your's will be different. Just play with it, you don't want the trailer brakes to stop the truck neither do you want the trailer to push the truck when you hit the brakes and you definitely don't want the brakes to lock up at highway speed. Before I go on the road I pull the trailer brakes at a low speed (10mph) to make sure they work like they are supposed to, they lock up when I do this on gravel.
I'm not aware of any scientific method either.
On the older style aftermarket brake controllers you had to adjust the gain according to your driving speed but not on these newer OEM and quite often there were compatibility issues.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140722_155641.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	333.9 KB
ID:	58705  
__________________
2013 RAM 3500 Dually Longhorn traded in
2018 RAM 5500 in the pipe
Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar, 6x6 Volt Battery Bank, Freedom SW 3012 Inv/Charger
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 11:52 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
schrederman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 977
DOH!!! Well, last night, I was waiting for a guy that carpools with me, and I looked at this... I'm a complete nincompoop. The + and - are not just symbols above the lever... they're buttons... Feeling a little silly, right about now.
__________________
J & D in Lovely Weatherford, TX
2016 Jayco White Hawk 28DSBH TT
2014 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4X4 6.7L Cummins
schrederman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 01:56 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
thebrakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canton, Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Go around the block a few times with the windows open. Make several manual stops (trailer brakes only) form 20mph or so under light apply, or drag the brakes...to warm them up. You have to set the gain with the trailer brakes warm. Once warm:

Get up to 25mph and apply the trailer brake quickly and fully. No truck brakes, just manual trailer brake apply. If the brakes lock up, back off the gain and try again. If they don't lock up, increase the gain and try again. You need to find the amount of gain that just locks up the brakes, then back off just a tad.

Setting this way means that in a panic stop, the controller will apply the maximum amount of braking, without locking up the trailer brakes. Since it's a proportional controller, applying less than a panic stop will mean proportionally less trailer braking.

Exactly how you change the gain, I assume is with those fancy "+" and "-" buttons!
__________________
thebrakeman ('70), DW ('71), DD ('99), DD ('01), DD ('05)
2004 Surveyor SV261T (UltraLite Bunkhouse Hybrid)
2006 Mercury Mountaineer V8 AWD Premier
Equal-i-zer WDH (10k), Prodigy Brake Controller
thebrakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 12:11 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
schrederman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 977
Yep, I'm pretty sure them thar fancy buttons will do the trick... I may never live this one down...
__________________
J & D in Lovely Weatherford, TX
2016 Jayco White Hawk 28DSBH TT
2014 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4X4 6.7L Cummins
schrederman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 11:56 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Jammer3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Blue Ridge Mountains
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by schrederman View Post
Yep, I'm pretty sure them thar fancy buttons will do the trick... I may never live this one down...


Not to worry. I've done the same thing. Twice. Duh!
__________________
2017 Salem 32bhds
2015 Ram 3500 DRW, CTD 4x4, MC,Aisin,4.10's
SIX BURNIN - SIX TURNIN
Jammer3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 01:26 PM   #8
Hawksclaw553
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Watson, Louisiana
Posts: 33
On my 2012 Ram 2500 pulling a Rockwood 8289ws I set my factory controller on 5.5 or 6. Works perfect


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
Hawksclaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake control, controller, brakes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.