Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2011, 07:51 AM   #51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 719
If you are going to sell it, I call dibs on it They can be daisy chained obviously and another one won't hurt


Quote:
Originally Posted by flyrotor View Post
No I haven't taken the time to set it up for the Dodge, I plugged it in one day and I wasn't getting the horse power or torque readings so I took it out, it's just sitting on the shelf in the garage. My Dodge has the 6 speed manual transmission and I don't believe it will monitor the temp there as well.

The Dodge has a pretty good reading on fuel consumption and MPG's, when it was in the suburban the things I regularily monitored were MPG, Miles to empty, Trans Fluid Temp, HP, CTQ.

I might play around with it a bit more, not real sure, I also am not looking forward to mounting it anywhere in the Dodge.

My 2001 BWM keeps setting of the check engine light, so I might use it more for checking codes to see if I really need to get in the shop or not.
__________________

__________________
2009 Ford F-150 XLT/XTR 5.4l, CrewCab. long bed
2011 Surveyor SV-291
Goomph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 08:09 AM   #52
Site Team
 
acadianbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnguy View Post
I have been using my MPG in place of the LOD.....when that puppy starts showing 8 mpg or less, the truck is ready to shift down. I will now start monitoring the LOD instead.
I did that for a long time too. It does work somewhat as an analog to LOD. And it works reasonably well if you do want to monitor your MPG while towing.
__________________

__________________
http://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp297/acadianbob/IMG_2757.jpg
2012 F150 FX4 Ecoboost, 2016 Surveyor 274BHS
2003 Yamaha FJR1300, Demco Premiere Slider
1969 John Deere 1020, 1940 Ford 9N, 1948 Ford 8N
Jonsered 535, Can of WD-40, Duct Tape
Red Green coffee mugs
acadianbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 07:38 AM   #53
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 338
I got my ScanGuage II in the other day. Plugged it in and was working. I started working on the XGuages for tranny temp, etc... nothing. No matter how I tried them (with 01 or without, PVM or CANSF). I even tried codes for things I didn't want. I was dissappointed to say the least. Then the geek in me got the better part of me, I'll write my own codes.... I'm not a programmer! LOL. After a while I just gave up, reset the ScanGuageII to "DEFAULT SETTINGS" and "BAM" all my factory XGuages that I wanted were working! It is very obvious to me that the SGII will pay for itself in a very short time! Can't wait to tow... observing normal driving readings to get a base line. GREAT TOOL!
__________________
Kirk, KN1B
2013 Cardinal 3800FL
2009 GMC 3500HD CC LB SRW
kbrown1075 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 07:41 AM   #54
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
Kirk, glad you got it working. After you reset your gas mileage during the 1st couple of gas stops, you will be good to go.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 07:55 AM   #55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 338
Thanks Chap,

I will have to wait for my next trip with the TT. I drive a company vehicle during the week and only use the TV around town on the weekends. The town isn't big enough to burn that much gas without getting dizzy .

My main concern was transmission temp. I had the transmission rebuilt after a code, transmission component slip, was read on our way to FL at Thanksgiving. We made it home OK, and had the transmission rebuilt prior to any serious damage. I do not want to damage anything more, that's for sure. BTW, the TV had a 128,000 when I bought it, didn't plan on a TT at that time. I had an aftermarket analog guage installed. The analog guage is not the same as the SGII readings. The higher the TFT the more difference appears (SGII being up to 30* higher than the analog guage). The analog guage sensor is in the pan, and still trying to find out where the computer gets it's reading from (sure it's inside the transmission). A friend of mine is the service manager at the local GM dealer and can be a wealth of info, but he is not sure about where the TFT sensor is.
Oh well, hopefully I'll have to go somewhere today and get to play some more.... tough part is keeping my eyes on the road and not all the data spewing out infront of me!!
__________________
Kirk, KN1B
2013 Cardinal 3800FL
2009 GMC 3500HD CC LB SRW
kbrown1075 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 05:24 PM   #56
Site Team
 
acadianbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbrown1075 View Post
The town isn't big enough to burn that much gas without getting dizzy .
That was the funniest line I've seen in awhile!!
__________________
http://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp297/acadianbob/IMG_2757.jpg
2012 F150 FX4 Ecoboost, 2016 Surveyor 274BHS
2003 Yamaha FJR1300, Demco Premiere Slider
1969 John Deere 1020, 1940 Ford 9N, 1948 Ford 8N
Jonsered 535, Can of WD-40, Duct Tape
Red Green coffee mugs
acadianbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 04:48 PM   #57
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbrjet View Post
I BAR works on my truck, but haven't had a need for it yet.
Hmmm, BAR might just work on newer trucks. Like Bob, mine just comes up blank. Can't say I didn't try.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 09:23 AM   #58
Senior Member
 
thebrakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canton, Michigan
Posts: 1,105
I'm up and running!
LOD came up automatically as a standard gage, as well as the other standards. I also have TFT and GR as Xgauges using the website codes.

FYI,
SLP would not work for me, with either of the website codes. I posted a question on ExplorerForums for the 4th gen (6-speed) version. Well, James from Linear Logic found my hit, did some digging, registered for the forum, and provided me with an "experimental" set of codes to try.

So, if SLP isn't working for you, try the codes below. Note that instead of providing % convertor lock (fully locked being 100), these codes provide the difference in convertor input/output speeds (input minus output). So a locked convertor yields an SLP reading of "0". Slippage will be a positive number, and can be quite high.

This will work on Explorer/Mountaineer with V8 and 6-speed transmission, and I bet it will be needed on F150s with the 6-speed, too.

Torque Converter Slip (RPM)
TXD: 07E12211B8
RXF: 0462051106B8
RXD: 3010
MTH: 000100100000
NAM: SLP
__________________

__________________
thebrakeman ('70), DW ('71), DD ('99), DD ('01), DD ('05)
2004 Surveyor SV261T (UltraLite Bunkhouse Hybrid)
2006 Mercury Mountaineer V8 AWD Premier
Equal-i-zer WDH (10k), Prodigy Brake Controller
thebrakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.