Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-09-2019, 03:13 PM   #1

Setting up a weight distribution hitch

I am fairly new to RV’ing and have not had much experience towing my trailer. I am wondering if I have set up my hitch properly or maybe I need a higher rated one. My TV is Dodge Ram 1500 and my WD bars are rated at 800-1200 lbs. I took my rig to the scales today and this is how the numbers came out.

With trailer and WD hooked up:
Steer axle 2900 lbs
Drive axle 3320 lbs
Trailer axle 7440 lbs

I re-weighed only my truck and got
Steer axle 2940
Drive axle 2320

Given these numbers I calculated my trailer weight at 8300 lbs.
I noticed only 40 pounds being transferred to the front axle and 1000 pounds being transferred to my rear axle of my TV. My calculated tongue weight is 960 lbs.
I am on the fifth link of my weight distribution bars and the instructions say that I cannot go any smaller. So I’m curious if these numbers seem right, I thought I would be able to put more weight on the front axle and take some more off of the rear axle.
jjcooler65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 05:52 PM   #2

What is the cargo capacity on your Ram?
Old 06-09-2019, 06:46 PM   #3

5260 is light. What year truck? Is it a single cab short bed 2WD Tradesman? You transferred a lot of weight. If you took a third weight without your WDH hooked up your steer axle would have showed a lot less than 2900 and Your drive axle would have showed a lot more than 3320. Both your steer & drive axle weights are good as you have largely replaced your unloaded steer weight and have not exceeded your likely max drive axle rating of 3900.