Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-09-2012, 01:55 PM   #1

Should I get a transmission cooler?

Hi. Almost newbie here. I just bought a 1999 F-150 with the 4.2L V-6 and auto transmission (with only 19K miles!). The tow rating is 4600 pounds. I will tow a trailer not more than 3000 pounds.

The truck does not have the tow package factory installed.

I had planned to install a transmission cooler but notice that the truck manual says nothing about that. Wonder if I really need one? It would cost me about $200 installed.

Do you smart people think I should get one? Thanks in advance for any advice.
richdonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 02:09 PM   #2

Short answer...

Most definitely.

John
foxhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 02:13 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

Yes yes yes yes
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 02:20 PM   #4
Site Team - Lou

AT the risk of piling on.

Yes and get a trans temperature gauge while you are getting it installed.
You will need it.
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 02:42 PM   #5

Never heard of a transmission burning up from being kept to cool
Nights camped in 2014 = 19
(2013 = 36)
(2012 = 42)
JFM-jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 02:45 PM   #6

OK I'm convinced! I thought I should get one but wondered if y'all would say I don't need it. Thanks again.
Old 04-09-2012, 07:08 PM   #7

Go tell your F-150...I am sure it will really appreciate your decision.
'07 GMC Sierra 2500HD Diesel 4x4
Why I got into RVing & More Fun
ng2951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 07:53 PM   #8

With a v6 and auto, it will probably be doing a lot of downshifting. Put the biggest trans cooler that you can afford and physically fit in there! An extra deep aluminum finned pan wouldnt hurt a bit either and neither would going to a full synthetic quality fluid.