Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-19-2012, 02:28 PM   #1

Stabilizer bars

Hi everyone,

I have a 2502 FR tt. What is the correct way to connect the hitch stabilizer bars?

On a friends trailer, he lowers the part connected to the tongue, connects the chain, and then uses a piece of pipe to lever it up.

On the 2502, the LP/battery cover seems to be in the way.

I have used my truck scissors jack to raise the bar up to get the third eye of the chain.

TIA
VaCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 03:09 PM   #2
Brigitte

I'm no pro but we also had trouble getting hooked up to the first link before getting the anti sway cam. That helped a lot. I cannot help you with specs but i don't think using a jack to raise the bars is standard operating procedure! Do you Have pictures?
Timbrens
boubou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 03:25 PM   #3
IT Guru

Send a message via AIM to jsilvius Send a message via Skype™ to jsilvius
We've got a 2006 Flagstaff and when the dealer showed us this is what we were told.

Connect the TT to the TV, use the TT tongue jack to jack the TV and TT up, connect your WD bars and use the pipe to lift the lever up, then lower it back down. I was also told that you do the same when you disconnect.

This is suppose to reduce the stress on the TV so you can connect the bars without the stress/weight on them. Then once it is connected you are now placing the stress (weight) on to the TV as you lower the TT jack.

2006 Flagstaff 831FKSS
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 SLT 5.9L Turbo Diesel Quad Cab
1 - DH (me); 1 - DW (Tee); 1 - DS (Jarod, 12)
Nights Camping: 2010 - 15; 2011 - 7; 2012 - 9
jsilvius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 03:54 PM   #4

Thanks for the replies!

Now, how do I know what the correct link of the chains is?
VaCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 08:02 PM   #5
Site Team