Old 09-07-2014, 08:09 AM   #1

Steep Grade Towing

I am looking at a trip that will take me up a 6% 3 mile long grade and back down on my return. I have no experience with this type of towing. Any advice is appriciated.

2001 F350 western hauler, 42 foot Coachman Adrenaline toy hauler.

Old 09-07-2014, 08:33 AM   #2

I'm going to assume your F350 is diesel. If you have trans and exhaust temp gauges, keep an eye on them. If you don't, they are a good idea to have in any towing situation. For the downhill, might have to manually downshift a gear to keep from having to ride brakes to much. I have an exhaust brake on mine, and believe all the newer diesels have them. Makes a HUGE difference.

davel1971 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 08:38 AM   #3

I was up and over the hills out of Denver, Co. in June going to The Grand Canyon.

Slow down before you start down and let the engine hold as much as it will, downshift if you run a manual in tow/haul if equipped.

A light pressure on the brakes is better than a hard brake now and then, try and hold a speed you are comfortable with.
Old 09-07-2014, 08:52 AM   #4
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford Idaho View Post
A light pressure on the brakes is better than a hard brake now and then, try and hold a speed you are comfortable with.
I wonder about that. Constant light pressure would generate a huge amount of heat in the brakes. Intermittent applicant of brakes would allow some heat to dissipate.
1969 John Deere 1020, 1940 Ford 9N, 1948 Ford 8N
Jonsered 535, Can of WD-40, Duct Tape
Red Green coffee mugs
acadianbob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 08:58 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by acadianbob View Post
I wonder about that. Constant light pressure would generate a huge amount of heat in the brakes. Intermittent applicant of brakes would allow some heat to dissipate.
I agree
Old 09-07-2014, 09:08 AM   #6

Quote: