Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-09-2015, 12:00 PM   #1

Sway Bar in the Rain

Took my new trailer for a test run this weekend. The helpful guy in the site next to me said that I should loosen my friction sway bar when it's raining. My route home was a stretch of highway heavily travelled by big trucks so I really did not want to disable the sway bar.

My setup is a Tacoma with towing pkg rated to pull 6500lbs and equipped with trailer brakes, a Rockwood 1901 at about 3800 GVWR, weight distribution bars and a friction sway control bar. Reading previous threads, the issue seems to be when turning, that because of slick streets the truck tires can slip due to the weight of the trailer pushing it. I am not an aggressive driver - very careful - but I am a beginner to towing. But it seems with my setup (weight of trailer being relatively low) that my risk from this issue is low. Seems that in the rain, I also wouldn't want the trailer swaying with the big trucks passing either so I'm thinking it is logical to leave the bar engaged.

Thoughts?
Old 03-09-2015, 12:30 PM   #2

I always leave mine on in the rain with no issues. I have read, however, to disengage them in ice/snow.
stallsmi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 07:31 AM   #3

Thanks stallsmi, for your response. I really hope to not be driving in the ice/snow! But you never know.
Old 03-10-2015, 07:39 AM   #4
Mod free 5er

The man knows of which he is talking.

We were towing our racecar trailer in Memphis in the rain with the dual friction sway bars tightened and going around a curve, we just about jackknifed due to the sway bars. We stopped and just loosened them a little and continued on with no problems. I never kept them tight in the rain again. Always stopped if we got caught in the rain and loosened them.
Old 03-10-2015, 08:02 AM   #5

Damn. Ya' learn something new every day.