Old 03-21-2015, 12:11 PM   #1

tongue weight

Hey guys a newbie here. I plan on purchasing a 19rr and am trying to figure out tongue weight. I am purchasing a propride hitch(195#s). The trailer will be about 6000# with a tongue weight of 13%-780#s. Do I add the hitch weight and tank weight to the total weight or the 780 weight?

Old 03-21-2015, 12:46 PM   #2

I bought one last fall - towed it home and now I'm getting ready for some camping! This is a tricky area and Im sure one of our fine gurus will chim in. The way I was told by dealer was to just measure the difference with WDH bar off then with them on and use this a s a starting point. Im just learning this also. At least two inch drop good start with bars on.
My set up:
Reese pro series 800# round bar hitch it includes:
1- Adjustable hitch head
1- 2 5/16 ball
2- 800# lift bars
2- lift brackets
2- chains
1- Reese friction sway control

https://www.etrailer.com/faq-how-to-...ue-weight.aspx

2006 Honda Goldwing
2012 Toyota Tundra DC
2015 Cherokee Grey wolf 19RR Limited
bluewoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 12:49 PM   #3

When I did my calculation I added total weight of battery, propane tanks and ProPride hitch assembly......

https://www.etrailer.com/faq-how-to-...ue-weight.aspx
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 10:14 AM   #4