Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-31-2013, 02:50 PM   #1

Tow Vehicle for Grey Wolf 26DBH

I’m a newbie, so please forgive me for any ignorance. We are planning on purchasing a Grey Wolf 26DBH within the next year. (Our first TT!!) We first need to purchase a tow vehicle, and this is causing nothing but conflict in regards to what truck is best for our needs. DH has long loved the look of the Dodge Ram and I’m fine with that, afterall, it will be his truck. When looking at the towing capacity of the TV and the weight of the TT (GVWR 7740) I am thinking our best bet would be a Ram 2500, DH thinks the 1500 is fine. We need a Crew Cab to comfortably travel with our two growing boys, and will be doing a lot of mountain driving both here at home (Blue Ridge mountains) and eventually out west. Trying to figure this all out without owning either vehicle for all the numbers has been frustrating. The last thing I want to see happen is DH fall in love with a truck, buy it, and quickly realize that it’s not powerful enough (or safe!) for our family. Any tips, recommendations would be greatly appreciated. TIA
BadWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 03:05 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

The Grey Wolf 26DBH has a listed empty tongue weight of 740 lbs. That might climb to close to 1000 lbs. when you have that puppy ready to travel.

Realistically, most 1/2 ton pickups only have about a 1200 to 1400 lb. payload capacity depending on the GVWR. Add the 1000 lb. tongue weight to the hitch, and that leaves you with 200 to 400 lb. for passengers and cargo. Not to say anyone is heavy, but with you and your husband, plus 2 growing boys could easily put your tow vehicle over the weight limit.