Old 05-12-2012, 01:53 AM   #1
Tow/weight questions...Some help please??

We are purchasing a hardwall trailer after a BAD experience with a hybrid. Some of you may have read my posts pertaining to that in other threads.

Anyhow, long story short, I am CONFUSED! We have a 2010 Chev Silverado, Crew Cab with a 4.3L V8, 3.23 axle ratio that we still owe $ on for the next 4 years...don't wanna cook the tranny, either!!!

GWVR is 6800 lb
GAWR FRT is 3650 lb
GAWR RR is 3950 lb
GCWR is 10,000 lbs

I only know this because I am pretty good at reading manuals....

What I'm not good at is making sense of this...What is the size/weight of unit I should purchase? Not planning any trips to the mountains with this thing, some peaks and valleys, mostly flat ground. I am so confused by dry weights, axles, etc...I have looked high and low but cannot seem to find a simple answer without a lot of calculation. The dealer we purchased the truck from had no idea, either. Also, I'd like to know what would happen if I was say, 1000 pounds over???

Any help and advice you guys can give me is greatly appreciated! You sure can't get much in the 5000 lb and under category!!!

wagstaff76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 02:38 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Well, for starters, all your numbers are GROSS numbers, good thing to know. Now you also need to know what the truck is, as it sits in the driveway, full of fuel, and wife and dog, and children on board, and anything else you would put in it to go camping, coolers, firewood, etc. Once you know that, then you can start doing the calculations, as to what you can tow, SAFELY!!!!!!!! Mountains , hills, dessert, have nothing to do with it, what can you tow safely!!!!

I'm guessing, and it's late (early), and I won't take the time to look it up, but your truck is going to be between 4500 and 5000 pounds. That leaves 5000 pounds max for trailer weight. Just a place to start, more later.

2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara