Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-15-2018, 11:52 AM   #1

Towing 5th Wheel - Violent Shaking Incident

Newbie here. On our second "shake-down" trip, we encountered a disturbing vibration that had the fifth wheel rolling from side to side at what seem like 10° each way. I was going up a slight incline (WB I-196 in Grand Rapids, MI) and a slight curve to the left with cruise control set on 65 mph. I immediately cut the cruise control (with the cancel button) and let the vehicle slow with no braking. It took about 10-15 seconds for the rolling/shaking to stop. DW was visibly shaken by this incident . . . me too!

I spoke with several fifth wheelers at the RV park and no one had ever encountered this. One of these was a long-haul trucker and he said he never uses cruise control so he can "feel" his rig better.

On the return trip I didn't use the cruise and indeed it was a better towing "feel". Still, near the end of our return, a little side-to-side rolling motion started and by dropping off the accelerator and tapping my brake control lightly a couple of times the rolling subsided. No curve, no cruise, but a slight incline.

We have a Lippert Turning Point pinbox with a Reese 15K Pro Series Hitch.

Has anyone encountered this? What makes it occur and how do I keep it from happening. If I can't solve this, DW (and myself!) won't be continuing.

Thanks!
Tuckers Truckers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 11:55 AM   #2

Fifth Wheel Violent Shaking

Sorry, for some reason, my signature did not work.

I have a Ford F250 XLT SuperCab with 6.2L Gas and a 6'-8" bed.

The Fifth Wheel is a Cherokee Arctic Wolf 265DBH8.
Old 07-15-2018, 12:01 PM   #3

Death wobble? How many miles on the truck? Was it the steering wheel that was shaking?
007matman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 12:14 PM   #4