Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-26-2016, 05:00 PM   #1

Towing a TT through the Rockies

How worried/concerned should I be towing a 28' TT ( 5204lb UVW- 2422lb CCC) through the Rockies with my 2004 Nissan Titan (5.6L V8 w/ tow pkg, 14,600lb GCW)? I'm new at camping and just want to know what I might expect. I have just replaced the tires, brakes, flushed transmission, and the other little preventative maintenance to my Titan. Am I biting off more than I can chew?
myezlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 05:09 PM   #2

Saw a Titan a couple of years ago pulling up to Eisenhower Tunnel in Colorado.

I forget what the TT it was pulling but it seemed to be doing fine.

Just take your time going down and you will be fine, just remember there is no reward for the first one to make the top.

Drop a gear and slow down before you start to drop off.
Old 03-26-2016, 05:16 PM   #3

Pulling it up either side of Eisenhower won't be an issue. Your setup should be fine. The only caution would be your brakes going down the western side toward Silverthorne. There are only the runaway truck ramps but it is 3 lanes wide all the way down. As another mentioned, just stay right and take your time.
Old 03-26-2016, 05:31 PM   #4

I've towed the Rockies and Cascades on the west coast several times with my Tundra 5.7. I have pulled I70 from Denver to Utah without issue tho construction and rock slides can be an issue. My 5er GVWR is 9300lbs, have weighed it as heavy as 8960lbs trip ready. No trouble climbing and maintaining speed and no trouble descending. I use the gears downshifting into 2nd at times with occasional brake tapping to keep the RPM,s <3500. I don't think you would have any problems with the Titan.
PhoneDude 8289 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 07:06 PM   #5