Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-12-2011, 12:10 AM   #1

Towing length question. HELP!!!

I'm a newbie to the world of travel trailers, but have researched the tow capabilities of my truck, an 03 GMC Z-71 V8 5.3L 3.43 ratio with tow package. Tow capacity is 7800lbs; the trailer I am looking at is 6900lb dry weight and 34'-8" long!!! That is my BIG question..... Will this be hard to tow??? I have had people say OMG it's so long, it's too much for the truck....experienced answer would be appreciated b
Soonrbrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:37 AM   #2
Site Team

too much trailer!!
that trailer will weigh 7300-7400lbs. before you add propane, water and cargo. "dry" weight is a fictional number.
it doesn't include the weight of things such as: spare tire, microwave, awning, battery, oven, and so on.
my 23' HTT was 400lbs. more than its "dry" weight, as it was delivered from the factory.
you'll be over the truck's maximum quite easily.

any trailer that long/heavy, needs a 3/4 ton truck minimum.

what's the GCWR of your truck? and i don't think GMC/Chevy had a 3.43 rear end. either 3.42 or 3.73 is the norm.
my friend has a '05 Silverado and it's a 3.42.
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:38 AM   #3
J. Parham

I had a 2005 1500 5.3L with 3.43. I towed a 30 TT with it that was dry around 5700 lbs. I never did full weight, but it was difficult to tow. I could tow it but again let me say it was difficult to tow. The Z71 suspension may help with sway, because I had a lot with my truck and it wasn't Z71. I think you are getting too much trailer (because of weight) for the truck. Definitely consider a different tow vehicle if you must buy this trailer.
snjparham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 01:18 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by bikendan
too much trailer!!