Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-17-2016, 09:29 PM   #1

towing with tow dolly or 4down

hello I have a coachman 319ds leprechaun e450 with a v10 I want to tow my vehicle with me im new to towing I have a chevy trailblazer that weighs 4900 lbs that can be towed 4down or I have a prius that I have to buy a tow dolly which weighs around 3000 lbs I welcome your opinion does anybody have either vehicle that they tow with a class c 31ft motor home or something similar thanks mark from Charles town wv
charlestown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 04:21 AM   #2

The Trailblazer would be easier to tow, but you will probably be at or over the max weight that is recomended, usually 5000 lbs. And, that is a heavy toad for your rig.
We have a 28 ft Lexington, same E-450, and tow a 3200 lb Subaru without any problem. Lexi is rated to tow 5000 lbs, but no way would I tow that weight unless absoultely necessary.
Some newer class c E-450 are rated to tow more now, but thats pushing the limit of whats safe, and what the rig is actually capable of towing over a long distance.
Prius will require a dolly, but will keep your towing weight within reason. Dolly would probably be a bit cheaper as you won't have to buy any 4 down towing equipment, usually 3 to 4 grand, total for all the equipment and supplemental brake system.
Only problem you may have is storing the dolly when not in use, either at the campground or at home, depending on your residence.. Most campgrounds you'll be able to detach and store the dolly right behind the rig, but some may require you to put it in an "overflow parking" area.
Grumpy

2012 Forrest River Lexington 283ts
Toad, 2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek
grumpy0374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 05:13 AM   #3