Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-15-2014, 11:15 AM   #1

Angry Trailer came loose - not mine

Another article of a trailer coming loose in Kansas. Second time in three months. Both times people were killed.

Two Kansans killed when their minivan hit by loose trailer | The Kansas City Star

I don't think we can remind people enough when they are asking questions about trailer weights, hitches about making sure they tow with the correct weights and equipment. I'm very new at towing travel trailers but spent months researching what my truck can tow, understanding all the acronyms, ratings and true weights. I know people don't like hearing from the "weight police" on this site but it's better than what just happen here in Kansas again.

I had a couple RV dealers keep trying to sell me that my 2011 F150 3.7L could pull a 6-7K lb trailer and even the smaller 5th wheel. Please don't buy into this crap without researching for yourself.

OK, I'm done now. Have a great weekend.
mwgkkg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 11:28 AM   #2
Site Team

The link didn't provide any details other than the trailer coming loose. Do you think it was related to weight?

Formerly owned 2011 Salem Cruise Lite 20RBXL & 2011 Toyota Tundra Dbl Cab
Terier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 11:32 AM   #3

I'm trying to find out. I don't think the winds were too high yesterday.
Old 11-15-2014, 11:43 AM   #4
Mod free 5er

Never mentioned whether it was a 5er or tt or if safety chains and break away brakes were operative, etc. Doubtful if it was weight related as much as it was improper hitching.
Old 11-15-2014, 11:43 AM   #5

Here is a link for the August accident. It was a lawnmower trailer with now hitch pin or chains.

No charges filed weeks after deadly trailer accident | Local News - Home
Old 11-15-2014, 11:46 AM   #6