Old 01-31-2015, 12:03 AM   #1

TV advice needed

I'm a newbie who just ordered a roo 23ss (due to arrive in March). In the meantime I'm shopping for a tow vehicle. Looking at suvs over trucks due to needed cargo room and additional seats needed for my girls (and their friends). I'm looking at the '09-'12 range of Suburbans/Tahoes/Armadas under 100,000 miles. Most important to me is safety and muscle to pull with dependability to last. Open to any opinions/reccomendations of these models and what i need to make them most equipped. Thanks.

Old 01-31-2015, 12:24 AM   #2

I tow my Salem 29RLSS with a 97 Suburban K2500HD and couldn't be happier The 454 (7.4) has plenty of power and nice big brakes. The 3/4 ton heavy duty has the same axles as the 1 ton pickup. 305, 530 miles and still runs good (all synthetic fluids). Yes I know, more MPG with a diesel, but higher priced fuel and, mostly I don't know how to work on diesels. Suburbans have been towing favorites for many years.

Old 01-31-2015, 12:42 AM   #3
Moderators' Assistant

a Suburban would be perfect for towing the 23SS.
make sure it has the factory tow package.
IMHO the Tahoe shorter wheelbase is a disadvantage.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 01:02 AM   #4

Ok. thanks. many of the Suburbans I'm looking at on Auto Trader have a hitch on them. If it has the hitch can I conclude it has the "tow package" your referring to? besides the hitch what all does the tow package consist of? thanks.
Old 01-31-2015, 01:16 AM   #5
Moderators' Assistant

Quote:
Originally Posted by tpennington70 View Post
Ok. thanks. many of the Suburbans I'm looking at on Auto Trader have a hitch on them. If it has the hitch can I conclude it has the "tow package" your referring to? besides the hitch what all does the tow package consist of? thanks.