Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-17-2011, 09:14 PM   #1

V Style Trailers / Sway Control

I'm new to the travel trailer life. I rented a travel trailer last year and went to SD and to CO with my family. Towed a 23 foot trailer with my 98 K1500 4x4 Suburban. Had a great time and no issues with TV or TT except for the fact that my I realized my TV was not big enough.

I am purchasing a 2002 Ford Excursion tomorrow with the 7.3 engine. Hopefully this will take care of the TV problem. I plan on better shocks, already has E load rating tires, maybe airbags, etc. My wife really likes the V Nose TT. We are looking at the V-Cross 30VFKS or the Rockwood 3008W.She likes the kitchen in the front out of the way.

Now here is the problem I have come across. Not wanting to have any issues with sway, I am interested in the Hensley, ProPride or Pullrite Hitch.
Now that she has settled on a V Nose TT, I find out that none of these three hitches will work with this style of TT unless you want to do some cutting on the TT. Not what I want to do on a new TT. I really like the Pullrite with the upside down fifth wheel hitch design, but I talked to them today and they said no luck.

So what is everybody using for this style of trailer for sway control? Will anything work or fit?

Thanks

Mike
mike2tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 09:22 PM   #2

Send a message via Skype™ to stevo
Hi Mike
Have a windjammer with an Equalizer Hitch.
Works great,easy to set up and use.
Cheers
Steve
Old 02-17-2011, 09:28 PM   #3

Thanks for the quick response.

Is this what you have?

Equal-i-zerŪ Hitch - Product Info

ike
Old 02-17-2011, 09:59 PM   #4

Send a message via Skype™ to stevo
Hi Mike
yes thats it,if you decide to go this way shop around as the price varies quite a bit depending on the dealer!
Steve
Old 02-17-2011, 11:25 PM   #5