Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-20-2016, 10:07 AM   #1

WD and Sway on a Palomino PUP

I am new to towing a camper and trying to educate myself on towing. I am interested in adding weight distribution and sway control to my 2008 Palomino 4123 camper. Everything I have read seems to indicate its an investment in safety and a smoother towing ride. I contacted Palomino directly and the Service Manager for Palomino, Mike Kernagis, advised to not use any Weight Distribution hitch on any Palomino pup.

Additionally the Honda tow vehicle is listed as "not recommended" for WD hitches.

So now I am considering my options. I would like the added control, margin of safety and improved ride from a WD with sway control but don't want to destroy the camper. Do I go against the advice of the manufacturer? Add only sway control? Other options?

The pop-up specs are:
  • 2008 Palomino 4123 Yearling (12 foot box)
  • Dry weight: 2053
  • Gross weight: 3000 (ish)
  • Hitch weight: 250#
It does have electric brakes, front storage box, A/C unit, front propane and battery.

The tow vehicle is a 2013 Honda Pilot Touring with tow set up including variable brake controller. Tow weight max is 4500 pounds. It will be loaded with four people (and sometimes a big dog). We should have little problem coming in under the gear weight for max equipment on the camper.

Any more experienced folks have any good ideas on the set up, options for ensuring a safe and secure ride or other issues? Thanks for any help you can give.
Finnian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 11:40 AM   #2

Look at the Anderson hitch. You can add a little WD and sway control without adding 100 pounds of tongue weight
missing_link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 11:53 AM   #3