Old 09-15-2019, 08:50 AM   #1

WDH &/vs Sway bars

It's been a few years since I've towed, and I am not super savvy on concept to begin with - so I asked the dealer and left even more confused.

TV - 2017 Santa Fe with 5000 capacity (have to check the tongue weight limits before I buy anything)
Geopro 16BH - my desired camper

So - I was confused about the WDH and have learned that it is the part connected to the trailer (as opposed to part of the harness bolted to the vehicle), ok good. Dealer describing WDH and how it looks/connects etc and I ask about sway bars - he tells me, No, with this camper and set up you don't want sway bars.... WHAT???? My questions:

1. Can you have both WDH & Sway bars
2. Is there ever a scenario where you wouldn't want sway bars

LeonineThor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 08:58 AM   #2
Rookie

I'm brand new to towing TT's and don't know much about the topic. But, after researching a few different options for the same TT with my '06 Chevy Trailblazer (I6, truck frame), I decided I'm going to use the Andersen WDH (which claims anti-sway). I'll be picking up my 16BH on 10/12 and driving it 10-12 hours home; I'll post up how the drive goes with this hitch.

Old 09-15-2019, 09:33 AM   #3

A Santa Fe has a pretty short wheelbase. I'd add one.

The only time you would need to be concerned about disconnecting would be if you have one of the friction type andi-sway devices that are sold along with a traditional chain style WDH. With those you'll need to disconnect them when reversing.

If it were me buying a new hitch I'd go with one of the Trunion style hitches with integraded sway control.

Fastway E2, Equal-i-zer 4-way, Andersen (even though it's not a trunnion-style hitch) would work well for your application.
007matman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 09:36 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeonineThor View Post

My questions:

1. Can you have both WDH & Sway bars