Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-21-2012, 04:12 PM   #1

Weight distribution hitch

I finally settled on a trailer (thanks to many of you who have answered my questions before, you were a big help) and got the dealer to throw in a weight distribution hitch, along with a few other things. I specifically said I wanted a 4 point WD hitch with sway control. However, I'm new to this and I've seen many types of hitches on the internet. Some have bars from the hitch that pin to a bracket on the trailer. Some have bars that are attached via a chain hanging down from the trailer.

My question is what are the differences between these type hitches. What I'm trying to avoid is the dealer installing a cheap hitch and just saying it's what I need.
cdbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 04:24 PM   #2

Yep, lots of differences between hitches. My opinion is I would ask the dealer to specifically tell you what brand hitch and model they intend to install and then report back. I guarantee my dealer wouldn't give a cr@9 what they were installing just to save a few bucks. It's better to get it right in the beginning.
punkaccountant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 04:26 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdbus View Post
I finally settled on a trailer (thanks to many of you who have answered my questions before, you were a big help) and got the dealer to throw in a weight distribution hitch, along with a few other things. I specifically said I wanted a 4 point WD hitch with sway control. However, I'm new to this and I've seen many types of hitches on the internet. Some have bars from the hitch that pin to a bracket on the trailer. Some have bars that are attached via a chain hanging down from the trailer.