Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-21-2015, 02:54 PM   #201

P.S. We can still share opinion in the group, BTW.....
but I feel a good loud Kum-bye-yah should come first. JMO.
Old 05-21-2015, 03:07 PM   #202

Quote:
Originally Posted by jevanb View Post
Maybe ford should put a EB in the f250/350. Then the EB vs diesel debate would go away as both would be hauling the same loads up the same roads.
I think that if you put the 3.5L EB in it's current form into a 250/350 it would stay in boost too much and not be that efficient. I'm no engineer, so there may be issues that would make this not feasible, but I would like to see a small V8 EB. The 5.0 would be a great choice, I think. I'd like to see them use the CGI block like the new 2.7L does. I think it would be awesome if they would offer different settings built in to the truck. For example, an economy mode would limit boost PSI and cause it to ramp up much less quickly. You could then have a tow/haul mode that would utilize more boost and ramp boost more quickly. You could use this same type of management with the 3.5L, but I think the 250/350 market would be much more accepting of a slightly larger V8. Granted, it would really suck the fuel when towing heavy, but there is a HUGE number of people that tow only a handful of times a year, but need the power when they do. If they could get the price ~$6K less than the diesel option, get economy mileage in the 17/14 range and get the tow/haul HP/TQ in the 400/600 range, I think we'd have a real winner on our hands.
dustman_stx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 04:34 PM   #203