Old 06-20-2013, 11:46 PM   #1

1st RV- 2011 2301- what to look for?

Hi all,

I'm new to RV'ing, and am looking to purchase our family's first RV- a 2011 Forester 2301.

I've shopped and found a dealer that is a distance from us that has a low miles unit that someone traded in and appears to be in good condition.

Having never purchased anything without being able to inspect it in person, let alone an RV, can someone educate me as to what both in general and specific to this particular model I should look for?

Also, with it being a used unit, how can I make sure that I'm not driving off the lot with a problem that I have no recourse to have the dealer fix since I'm half the country away?

Any words of wisdom/advice to put me at ease about doing something like this would be appreciated by this newbie and his family.

Thanks!

Old 06-20-2013, 11:52 PM   #2
MI Camperz

This is a great RV Inspection checklist that includes what to take with you.
I will add to it by saying...Press on every wall in every area, every few inches, inside and out to make sure there are no "soft" spots. Same with floor and ceiling. That would indicate rot from a prior or existing leak. If it is a laminated trailer, stand back and look down the sides of the exterior...if you see bubbles or waves, move on...that is delamination...

RV Inspection Checklist.

Good luck and happy camping.

Old 06-21-2013, 06:56 AM   #3

The way I read the beginning of your third paragraph is that you might buy this without looking at it. Not sure if that's correct or not (its been done before). If that's the plan, it's definitely not recommended.
'94 Coleman Cedar Pop Up
paulmlac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 08:14 AM   #4