Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2015, 04:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
KJcachers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 314
3051 15k ac/heat pump question

Anybody think I can run either the ac or the heat pump off a 15 amp 110v circuit using a 15 to 30 adapter? Looks like the Dometic Brisk Air II has a 13.2 amp draw so I think that might be pushing it.
__________________

__________________
Jason and Karen
2015 Forester 3051S
2016 Ford Fiesta-Toad

https://www.visitedstatesmap.com/image/NCTNVAsm.jpg
KJcachers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 04:42 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,555
You might get the AC to start the first time if nothing else is running. It is unlikely that it would restart as there will be some pressure head remaining after shutdown. I would not recommend doing it other than a quick test you may get some voltage drop which is not good for the compressor.
__________________

__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 05:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
KJcachers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 314
Not a big deal. I can fire up the generator to run them.
__________________
Jason and Karen
2015 Forester 3051S
2016 Ford Fiesta-Toad

https://www.visitedstatesmap.com/image/NCTNVAsm.jpg
KJcachers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 06:07 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Boso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,198
Yes I believe it will start up and run but it won't run but about 15 minutes before the circuit heats up and the breaker kicks off I have done it just to see and it will start up
__________________
i2015 sunseeker 3050s. 2007 saturn aura
Boso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 06:10 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
KJcachers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boso View Post
Yes I believe it will start up and run but it won't run but about 15 minutes before the circuit heats up and the breaker kicks off I have done it just to see and it will start up

Not interested in tripping breakers in my garage. Use to be able to run the ac in my trailer but that was a 13.5 unit so the draw was lower and as long as I didn't run anything else it was fine.
__________________
Jason and Karen
2015 Forester 3051S
2016 Ford Fiesta-Toad

https://www.visitedstatesmap.com/image/NCTNVAsm.jpg
KJcachers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 07:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 931
120 volt circuits are designed to only run at 80% of their rating in long-term use, so a 15 amp circuit should not be run beyond 12 amps continuously. Upgrading to a 20 amp branch circuit will give you more than adequate capacity for just the A/C unit, but if your batteries are low the converter/charger may draw more than 5 amps and overload the circuit.
__________________
2015 T12RBST Flagstaff Hardside
2008 Itasca Meridian 37H
Bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 12:38 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Creativepart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Texas
Posts: 525
Two years ago I had a 30-amp outlet installed in my garage. It cost about $200 but has been a great plus over all.

Living in South Texas, we use it to cool down the coach while packing for trips to cooler climates. Previously we tried to do it with a 15-amp outdoor socket. It nearly melted the receptical over time.
__________________
2017 Winnebago Adventurer 37F
TOAD: 2016 Lincoln MKX
Creativepart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:04 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
KJcachers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 314
Propane furnace shouldn't be a problem... Looks like it only pulls 7 amps.
__________________
Jason and Karen
2015 Forester 3051S
2016 Ford Fiesta-Toad

https://www.visitedstatesmap.com/image/NCTNVAsm.jpg
KJcachers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 05:31 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
A32Deuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mount Laurel,NJ
Posts: 5,021
Propane furnace is 12 volt.
__________________
A32Deuce is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 06:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
KJcachers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 314
Doh! That's right! 😳
__________________

__________________
Jason and Karen
2015 Forester 3051S
2016 Ford Fiesta-Toad

https://www.visitedstatesmap.com/image/NCTNVAsm.jpg
KJcachers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
305, pump

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.