Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2016, 10:58 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Jimmy Longbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
30amp to 50amp

I am a new 3051s owner and I am currently living in it for the year while mobilized for the Army. I have the ability to have 30 or 50 amps, so I am asking if it would be better for me to convert to 50 amps. I have my dogs in the RV while I am gone for the day, so my concern is the AC. I am afraid that the 30 amp would blow while I am gone and the Texas heat is 100 plus during the day. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated since I am new to the RV world. Thanks


RN4L
__________________

__________________
Jimmy Longbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 11:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Blackhat6mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: St Simons Island, GA
Posts: 1,176
Send a message via Skype™ to Blackhat6mike
IMHO, anytime you have 50 amp available, take it. If you don't need but 30amps, then no big deal. There will be times that you will be running the AC and coffee pot [big current draw] and want to use the microwave [also big draw]. With 50 amps, you don't have to worry about tripping a breaker. With 30 amps, you will have to pay close attention to what can use at one time. Also, much less chance of losing your AC while you are away.
Since you will be away from the unit and your dogs are inside, you might want to ask someone at the CG to keep an eye on your unit. I would hate to see harm come to your critters. We travel with two cats.
__________________

__________________
2013 Silverado 2500 HD Duramax/Allison Tuned
Aviator Wright Flyer #1919
"First In, Last Out". 11B4Y
DAV, MOPH, VFW, 5/7 Cav,1/8 Cav Assoc.
11th ABN Pathfinder Co. N7MIP
Blackhat6mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 11:26 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Jimmy Longbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
Thanks for the reply. What is the best way to hook up to the 50 amp. I searched around, but wasn't sure what I needed to get to hook up to the 50 amp


RN4L
__________________
Jimmy Longbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 11:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Blackhat6mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: St Simons Island, GA
Posts: 1,176
Send a message via Skype™ to Blackhat6mike
First of all, what do you mean by you have the ability to use 30 or 50 amps? Is your unit wired for 30 or 50 and what power cord do you have? Is the plug end of your cord 30 or 50 amp?
__________________
2013 Silverado 2500 HD Duramax/Allison Tuned
Aviator Wright Flyer #1919
"First In, Last Out". 11B4Y
DAV, MOPH, VFW, 5/7 Cav,1/8 Cav Assoc.
11th ABN Pathfinder Co. N7MIP
Blackhat6mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 07:40 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Shelby twp, MI
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy Longbone View Post
I am a new 3051s owner and I am currently living in it for the year while mobilized for the Army. I have the ability to have 30 or 50 amps, so I am asking if it would be better for me to convert to 50 amps. I have my dogs in the RV while I am gone for the day, so my concern is the AC. I am afraid that the 30 amp would blow while I am gone and the Texas heat is 100 plus during the day. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated since I am new to the RV world. Thanks


RN4L
I have the same unit. It's only wired for 30 amps. Plugging into 50 amps with an adapter won't give you 50 amps. Sorry.
__________________
Ed & Gay
Mini-Schnauzers Dora & Mabel
(Phoebe, in our hearts)
2014 Forester 3051s
2013 Fiat 500 Sport
Workin on my Curmudgeon badge
rapiniii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 07:55 AM   #6
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,414
As Rapiniii said, there's more to it than just getting a dogbone and plugging into a 50 amp receptacle. If you really wanted to utilize 50 amp service, you'd need to replace the power center with one that's designed for 50 amp service and replace the power cable with a 50 amp one.

If you're worried enough that you think a second A/C is warranted, then you need to add a second one and run separate power to it.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 08:01 AM   #7
Georgia Frog Rally 2017
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 7,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
As Rapiniii said, there's more to it than just getting a dogbone and plugging into a 50 amp receptacle. If you really wanted to utilize 50 amp service, you'd need to replace the power center with one that's designed for 50 amp service and replace the power cable with a 50 amp one.

If you're worried enough that you think a second A/C is warranted, then you need to add a second one and run separate power to it.
X 2 and it will cost much to convert. Later RJD
__________________
2015 35 FT V-Lite 30WRLIKS Diamond Package
2015 Chevy 2500 6.0 4:10 gearing.
Days booked for 2016--60 missed by 2
Days camped in 2016 58
Days booked so far in 2017 37
aceinspp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 08:03 AM   #8
Member
 
JCCarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Auburn, PA
Posts: 50
Your unit will still have a thirty amp breaker in it's panel (distribution center). So hooking up to 50 won't allow you to use anymore power than hooking up to a properly functioning 30 amp source.

The key being properly functioning.

I was at a Thousand Trails campground in New Jersey and kept blowing the 30 Amp circuit with nothing running but the converter charging the battery for some LED lights and the A/C. I checked my draw (22 amps) and then reported the issue. While waiting for them to fix it I hooked into a 50amp with an adapter. The campground tech came. I use the term tech in the same way my father who was an elevator operator during his college years called himself a vertical circulation engineer. At any rate the tech said you should always hook up to 50 these campers draw too much power for 30 amps.

I know I shouldn't bother... but I tried to explain it to him. No luck.

Hooking up to 50 amp will give you 50 amps to the distribution panel in your camper. There you hit a 30amp breaker. As soon as you draw about 10% (varies depending on age of breaker) more than thirty or sustain even a slight overdraw and over heat the breaker it will trip. But if it's properly wired, and the breaker is in good condition, and all you leave on while your gone is a single A/C unit it will not draw anywhere near enough to trip it.

Until a power outage happens. If you get a power blink, the compressor in the A/C will not unload. So when the power comes back on a second later the motor will overdraw trying to restart the A/C. This may cause the A/C circuit or the camper circuit to trip. No more A/C until its manually reset.

A quality RV surge system will include a delay circuit so it will wait to restore power for 120 (varies) seconds so that the compressor unloads and you can safely send power back into the unit.

In PA we use a fantastic fan that's temp controlled so that if we lose the A/C while out the camper won't get hot enough to harm the pets. Our toy hauler has vents that we leave open to create the cross draw. But if parked in the blazing sun of texas in summer with pets and the nature of campground electrical... I would want a auto switchover generator.
__________________
Rig: '16 XLR Hyper-Lite 29 HFS > 2014 Nissan Titan Pro4X 5.6L
Toys:
'08 HD Screaming Nemo Ultra > '07 HD Dyna Street Dori
Family: DH - JC, DW - Malinda, DD - Sparky the Wonder Chug (Chihuahua & Pug)
_____________
_______________________________________
Days Camped: 2016 - 22 (+13 reserved); 2015 - 27; 2014 - 16
JCCarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 08:04 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 976
But plugging into 50 amps with a dogbone will assure that the campground pedestal won't trip on only 30 amps, since it will wait for 50 amps. That does reduce at least one source of potential problem, especially with the known issues at campgrounds concerning worn plugs and old breakers on the 30 amp side.

Since the OP controls the load side, leaving only the AC on and turning off any other major 120 volt loads will reduce the possibility of any issues.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2016, 12:43 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Jimmy Longbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
That's for the guidance. Sorry for the late reply, got pretty busy the past few weeks. Again, thank you, I know I will be hitting the forums a lot for things all year.


RN4L
__________________

__________________
Jimmy Longbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.