Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2019, 01:01 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 129
Added 12V Receptacles on each side of bed.

My wife and I both use CPAP machines, which run on 12V. I wanted to add the receptacles so that we could leave the 120vac cord and brick in the house. Besides, now we can boondock without converting 12v to 120v to 12v.

I contacted the CPAP store without model number and they proved the 12v cords with a cigarette lighter end.

I added two fused circuits to the power distribution center under the bed. Works great!!
__________________

Mach428 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 01:25 PM   #2
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 10,089
Never happened without pics...
__________________

__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '16=46 '17=30 '18=51 '19=42
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 02:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 129
Sorry. I'll add pics of this and many other mods.
Mach428 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 04:30 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: NJ
Posts: 677
Mach,

My wife just picked up her CPAP machine last week and I've already been thinking about how this would work in my 3011 RV. I saw the 12V outlets that you installed in the bed base on the other thread, was there a 12V source nearby that you tapped into? Also, where do you place the CPAP machine itself?

RVr
newRVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 05:01 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 129
The power distribution center is under the bed. I installed two additional circuits with 15 amp fuses from the 12 volt side. Mine had an additional 4 circuits that were unused so I still have two left. If you remove the front cover, you will see that the AC and DC sides are separated. Very easy to do.

We put our machines on the little built-in stands on either side of the bed.
Mach428 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 05:03 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 129
NewRVr, check the brand of machine and contact the manufacturer to ensure it's 12v (most of them are) and they can supply the 12v power cords. One end plus into your machine; the other has a cigarette lighter plug that goes directly into the receptacle.
Mach428 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 05:05 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Sandy, Utah
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mach428 View Post
The power distribution center is under the bed. I installed two additional circuits with 15 amp fuses from the 12 volt side. Mine had an additional 4 circuits that were unused so I still have two left. If you remove the front cover, you will see that the AC and DC sides are separated. Very easy to do.

We put our machines on the little built-in stands on either side of the bed.
You are lucky all you needed were chords. I did the same thing although a different way but my CPAP's required adapters to drop the voltage down from 12 volts. $90 each.
__________________
2019 Cedar Creek 29RE
2017 Silverado Duramax 3500
rocco52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 05:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 984
My dealer arrange to have a 12 outlet in the bed area on my side.

Been using a cpap for 20 years. Had an outlet in the sailboat.

The bad thing is they are hungry devils. When parked I use the 110.
tomkatb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 05:41 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocco52 View Post
You are lucky all you needed were chords. I did the same thing although a different way but my CPAP's required adapters to drop the voltage down from 12 volts. $90 each.
I don't understand. I've never seen a machine that operates on < 12 volts. Typically, the power cords with the inline brick drops the voltage from 120 to 12, thus the power cords that I got skips the 120 volt conversion and plugs directly into 12 volts.
Mach428 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 06:23 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Sandy, Utah
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mach428 View Post
I don't understand. I've never seen a machine that operates on < 12 volts. Typically, the power cords with the inline brick drops the voltage from 120 to 12, thus the power cords that I got skips the 120 volt conversion and plugs directly into 12 volts.
Sorry it wasn't the voltage that our units need dropped it was the amps. The output of both the AC and DC converters for the Resmed Airsense 10 is 12 volts 3.7 amps. Other models or brands may have built in converters that handle this.
__________________

__________________
2019 Cedar Creek 29RE
2017 Silverado Duramax 3500
rocco52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bed

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.