Old 05-02-2015, 04:14 PM   #1

Decal maintenance.

I posted the in the General area and no responses. Any help would be appreciated.

As a newbie, I have read (I think) all the threads on the cleaning and waxing our RV's to help me with our new Forester. I appreciate all the experience you all bring to the forum but one question I have after reading all of this is can I use my Maquires Marine polish/wax on the decals. In all the threads some people say yes, others say you should not.
I am in the process of getting ready to wax my Forester for the first time and I would like to get off on the right foot. Does anyone have any concrete evidence one way or another on the use of polish/wax on the decals? Your help would be appreciated.

Old 05-02-2015, 10:26 PM   #2
WFD

Unfortunately you won't know for sure till a few years from now if they dry out from wax. I hear ya....some say they wax over without problems, others have had to replace decals. I suppose it depends where you live, southern climate vs northern. To be on the safe side I decided to avoid waxing the decals. Now obviously some does get on the edges of them as I wax the void areas between the decals..I figure it wont be a huge deal if a bit gets on them.
What I have done after reading many posts in here, is I bought a bottle of Aerospace 303, and use that on decals as well as on rubber parts around windows,etc. It really does seem to live up to all the praise it gets. Best price seems to be on Amazon, it's very difficult to find elsewhere. People claim to use it on tires as well. It's a very good UV protectant.

Old 05-02-2015, 11:25 PM   #3

Thanks WFD I appreciate your response.
Old 05-02-2015, 11:49 PM   #4

I cannot say I have "concrete evidence" but, I treat them the same as the 3M graphics on my truck.

3M instructions are here:
https://multimedia.3m.com/mws/media/...hics-wraps.pdf
Old 05-03-2015, 10:09 PM   #5

Thanks Madmax. This is good information to read through.
Old 05-03-2015, 10:25 PM   #6
GM