Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2018, 08:09 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: PNW
Posts: 246
DISH satellite hook up for a 2401 Forrester

AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OK, so we finally bought a DISH Tailgater satellite with wally receiver. The brochure for our coach said it was pre-wired for satellite, so I figured I'd plug into one of the two outside coax connectors - NOPE!

IF I plug directly into the back of the Wally receiver, we get a great picture, but if I connect it to either coax connection (one by the man door, or the main TV one back b/w the electrical and water) we get a "complete signal lost" message?

Not being very smart about this stuff (ok, not even a little smart...) I just assumed there was some fancy thing behind the walls that said it was now hooked to satellite?

The last thing in the world I want to do is run that darn cable through a partially open window to the back of the cable box I really hope someone can tell me I'm missing something simple/obvious or even "here's the fix, but it isn't easy". After spending $500 on all our equipment, I really want this to work right.

Like I said, GREAT picture when running cable through the window directly to the back of the wally receiver, but...

And yes, I tried to look for other threads. I can take a pic of the connections in the cabinet behind the TV if that would help anyone have an idea on what we're missing.

Thank you.
__________________

__________________
2017 MBS 2401W
BBogey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 08:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 105
If it is like my 2109S, the end of the satellite coax from the outside is merely tied up behind the radio and not long enough to do much with either.
__________________

__________________
2018 Rockwood 2109S
Sahall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 08:52 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 12
Our Class C, Forrester said prewired also. It was not. I had to take it to the shop and pay to get my Dish wired. Very disappointed that you write this, as it apparently has happened to more than mine. The reason I had to pay was because it was out of warranty by the time I bought the dish. Yes, we had to pull the wires through the window.
5cents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 09:04 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 14
I have no idea where the prewired satellite connector is on a 2401 but on my 2018 3011DSF it's on the roof. The rear sidewall connector is for cable tv and goes to the OTA TV amplifier (the one you have to turn on for OTA and off for cable). That outside connector can be used for satellite but the cabling has to be modified so the sat signal doesn't pass through the amp.
tkljr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 12:21 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: PNW
Posts: 246
Thx for the replies but it appears weíre kind of screwed on this one 😡
__________________
2017 MBS 2401W
BBogey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 07:13 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 105
Does yours have the dual coax connector on the outside? If so, remove the connector block (three screws) and pull it out and look on the backside to see what color coax is connected to the satellite side. Mine was black. (Orange was cable). I stumbled upon an unused black coax bundled with the other coax at the antenna amp control.
I realize that yours might be entirely different.
__________________
2018 Rockwood 2109S
Sahall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 07:15 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
BandJCarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Between Pickles Gap and Toad Suck, AR
Posts: 5,833
https://www.amazon.com/Ghost-Jumper-...70_&dpSrc=srch
__________________
"Next to prayer, fishing is the most personal relationship of man" Herbert Hoover
"American by Birth, Southern by the Grace of God"Lewis Grizzard

FROG AR-0019-242
2016 GMC Denali 3500Dually--2017 CC 36CKTS
BandJCarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 08:00 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Brendon37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBogey View Post
AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OK, so we finally bought a DISH Tailgater satellite with wally receiver. The brochure for our coach said it was pre-wired for satellite, so I figured I'd plug into one of the two outside coax connectors - NOPE!

IF I plug directly into the back of the Wally receiver, we get a great picture, but if I connect it to either coax connection (one by the man door, or the main TV one back b/w the electrical and water) we get a "complete signal lost" message?

Not being very smart about this stuff (ok, not even a little smart...) I just assumed there was some fancy thing behind the walls that said it was now hooked to satellite?

The last thing in the world I want to do is run that darn cable through a partially open window to the back of the cable box I really hope someone can tell me I'm missing something simple/obvious or even "here's the fix, but it isn't easy". After spending $500 on all our equipment, I really want this to work right.

Like I said, GREAT picture when running cable through the window directly to the back of the wally receiver, but...

And yes, I tried to look for other threads. I can take a pic of the connections in the cabinet behind the TV if that would help anyone have an idea on what we're missing.

Thank you.
Don't worry you're not alone in this one. I too just bought the Pathway X2 and Dish Walley for my Crusader. It clearly says satellite and cable prepped. I tried to connect to the satellite port and I get no signal. I bought one of those flat coax cables and run it through my window and all is well and sealed. It was a bummer but it still works.
__________________
2014 Ram 2500 4x4 Laramie 6.7 Cummins
2017 Prime Time Crusader 315rst
B&W Turnover Ball
Andersen Ultimate 5th Wheel Connection
Dish Wally w/ Pathway X2
Brendon37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 10:11 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: PNW
Posts: 246
As ALWAYS, thanks very much for the replies!!! I pulled my mess of boxes and what not back out of the MH and we're going to set it off to the side for a while, hook up my boat and go camping/fishing for a few days and tackle it again on Monday, or at least way options.

Thank you!
__________________
2017 MBS 2401W
BBogey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 12:19 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Richmond, VA, USA
Posts: 51
What’s a Wally receiver?
kwf1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 12:49 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: PNW
Posts: 246
It's just a small DISH receiver that is part of the satellite package I bought.
__________________
2017 MBS 2401W
BBogey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 12:55 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 11
Jshea

You can run cable and satellite off the same outside cable hook up. On the inside where your tuner hooks up you can pull that wall plate off, disconnect the cable and install a special splitter with one cable input and 2 cable outputs. Each output has a different frequency. One for cable & one for satellite. Get 2 pieces of short coax and run one to the cable output on the wall & one to the satellite output . Splitter is not expensive.
J.Shea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 01:04 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: PNW
Posts: 246
Again, thanks very much for the replies - LOL, there is a glimmer of hope in some of these replies, and I will give it an attempt this weekend when we get home!

Thanks!
__________________
2017 MBS 2401W
BBogey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 01:36 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwf1958 View Post
Whatís a Wally receiver?
It is the box you need to use inside with the Dish antenna to get tv stations.
5cents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 01:39 PM   #15
pburch
 
pburch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Melbourne Fl
Posts: 46
Hey Guys;

I used to install these systems in my prior life! Lol The coax connection on the outside of your unit has to go directly to the back of the receiver ( power to the dish is run thru the coax) so, the coax may be going thru a splitter behind your TV, or to your TV antenna amp. Find the coax coming from the outside, remove it from the splitter, or amp, and use a F-81 barrel connector to connect a coax jumper to the back of the receiver, and you will have a picture!!!!
__________________
William Presley Burch Jr
Julie Ann Dyke Melbourne FL
2018 Forest River Salem Hemisphere 282RK
2018 Dodge Ram 2500 6.4 L 4 x 4 3.73 Gear 6' 4" Bed
Along with "Abby" and "Charlie" our dogs
pburch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 01:44 PM   #16
Adult Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 34
On our 2017 Sunseeker 3010DS it is on the roof. We ran a 100 ft cable down to the ladder where we keep it so we do not have to install everytime.
punkinpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 01:51 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Indymule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 644
It is also not uncommon for the cables to be labelled incorrectly. On our unit, there is 3 cable connections in the wet bay. One is for cable TV, one is for satellite living room and one is satellite bedroom. The cables were hooked up wrong. The satellite living room and the satellite bedroom were swapped. If you this applies to your setup, I would check the cables.
__________________
Jay & Maria - Camp Dog Joplin
2018 Cedar Creek Champagne 38EL
Fulltimers since May 2018!
2017 Ford F350 Crewcab Dually Diesel
Officially homeless and loving it.
Ham Callsign K9NDY
Indymule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 03:13 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Anderson, MO
Posts: 2
Dish hookup

I have the Pathway X2 and the wally box. I installed a separate outlet for dish, camper came with a cable outlet. Worked great no need to good thru window, just screw in coax and you're good to go. Now if I'm where cable is available just use my dish coax in to the cable outlet
wolffj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 03:17 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
BandJCarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Between Pickles Gap and Toad Suck, AR
Posts: 5,833
Read the body of work on what people have........and you will find coax cabling in these units is different for each one.......even of the same model. I was lucky that mine are labeled right. But I had to pull the plate at both ends to ensure that each was color coded right. Some are all black though, so that'd be no help. Mine are gray, orange, and black. Find both ends of the orange (etc) and you have a direct run. Satellite receivers require a direct run.

If you can't ensure a direct run, you have to build one.
__________________
"Next to prayer, fishing is the most personal relationship of man" Herbert Hoover
"American by Birth, Southern by the Grace of God"Lewis Grizzard

FROG AR-0019-242
2016 GMC Denali 3500Dually--2017 CC 36CKTS
BandJCarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 03:50 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: PNW
Posts: 246
got a buddy coming over this weekend and we'll take another run at it! I WILL post up my results; hopefully GOOD results!

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
2017 MBS 2401W
BBogey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
forester, lite, satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


×